Metallica’s James Hetfield will be a guest on Apocalyptica’s upcoming album

Author Arto Mäenpää - 14.5.2024

Finnish cello rockers Apocalyptica are gearing up to release their rendition of Metallica‘s iconic track “One” on Friday, May 17. This highly anticipated cover, featuring guest appearances by Metallica frontman James Hetfield and bassist Robert Trujillo, will be featured on Apocalyptica‘s forthcoming album, “Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2,” scheduled for release on June 7 via Throwdown Entertainment.

The collaboration between Apocalyptica and Metallica marks a significant milestone in the band’s journey, which began in 1996 when cellists from Helsinki’s prestigious Sibelius Academy paid homage to the heavy metal giants with symphonic tributes. In anticipation of the release, Apocalyptica teased fans with an exciting announcement:

“We have something very special for you! We’ve been hiding a very big secret for months now. As you hopefully know already, the new ‘Plays Metallica Vol. 2’ album is coming out soon, June 7th. Now, it is time to reveal some of the cool things that we’ve been holding back!”

“The third single is about to be released May 17th. And yes, it will be a new version of ‘One’…featuring the master himself, James Hetfield!!! Yes, you read it correctly. Apocalyptica feat. James Hetfield and also Rob Trujillo!”

“For us, this is truly amazing, incredible and most importantly such an honor! So better wait for it and pre-save the single right away, because we are 100% sure it’s going to blow your mind!”


01. Ride The Lightning
02. St. Anger
03. The Unforgiven II
04. Blackened
05. The Call Of Ktulu (in memory of Cliff Burton)
06. The Four Horsemen (feat. Rob Trujillo)
07. Holier Than Thou
08. To Live Is To Die
09. One (feat. James Hetfield and Rob Trujillo)
10. One (instrumental)