Atrophy announce “Asylum”, their first album since 1990, share new single

Author Flavia Andrade - 7.2.2024

US thrash metallers Atrophy have announced their new album “Asylum”, the band’s first studio offering after 34 years. It will be released on March 15, 2024 via Massacre Records.

Keeping the speed of “Socialized Hate” and the grooves of “Violent By Nature”, the album adds a big dose of heaviness to the mix. The result is a satisfying aural kick to the face. The lyrical focus is still on societal ills, from the insurrection to the brainwashing performed by the major news networks, and then also the obvious results from these on the people just struggling to live their lives.

Produced, mixed and mastered by Alex Parra at Second Sight Studio, “Asylum” has cover artwork by Romulo Dias.

“Asylum” track listing:

01. Punishment For All
02. High Anxiety
03. Seeds Of Sorrow
04. Distortion
05. Bleeding Out
06. American Dream
07. Close My Eyes
08. The Apostle
09. Five Minutes ‘Til Suicide

Atrophy have also shared a lyric video for the firat single off the album, “Punishment For All“, which you can check out below: