David Ellefson announces his new band The Lucid: first song and album details released

Author Samuel Järvinen - 10.9.2021

David Ellefson, who was fired from Megadeth in May, recently teased his fans with a new project called The Lucid. Now Ellefson has finally officially announced his new band.

Ellefson is joined by Vinnie Dombroski from Sponge, Mike Heller from Fear Factory and Drew Fortier from Zen From Mars.

The first taste of the project is now available in the form of “Maggot Wind”. The debut album, named after the band, will be released on 15 October via SpoilerHead Records.

Ellefson comments:

“It’s been a real blast making a record with these guys and I must say that it’s refreshing to explore some new musical avenues… to step out a bit from what each of us have done stylistically in our own careers. There was an effortless synergy that came with creating these songs together which is always amazing when working with new people. I’m looking forward to everyone checking it out!”

1. “Maggot Wind”
2. “Deaths of Despair”
3. “Spoiler Head”
4. “Hair”
5. “Maskronaut”
6. “Damned”
7. “Breech Boy”
8. “Pigs and Sons”
9. “Parade of Spit”