Ozzy Osbourne confirms September 9 as the release date for his new album ‘Patient Number 9’

Author Flavia Andrade - 25.6.2022

September 9 has been announced as the release date for “Patient Number 9”, Ozzy Osbourne’s new album, the first since his critically acclaimed, worldwide, chart-topping release “Ordinary Man” (2020).

The album’s self-titled first single and video have been released worldwide on Friday, June 24.  Listen to “Patient Number 9here and watch the video directed by Todd McFarlane here.

Todd McFarlane on working with Ozzy:

“Having worked with Ozzy in the past, I jumped at another opportunity to do so again…especially on the music side this time. In the harsh business called the music industry, any creative person who’s sustained a multi-decades career has shown the skill, talent and tenacity that will always garner my admiration. Ozzy has shown many of us creative folks that it’s indeed possible to make a living doing what you love for nearly an entire lifetime. Go, Ozzy!”

Produced by Andrew Watt (producer of “Ordinary Man”) and set for release on Epic, the new album marks Ozzy’s 13th solo studio album.  It’s heavy, hard-hitting, historic–it’s everything you’d want from an Ozzy Osbourne record.

Patient Number 9” was written by Ozzy, Watt, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith and Ali Tamposi and features a solo from legendary guitarist Jeff Beck (who guest stars on the album). The video marks the first collaboration from the project with Emmy-and Grammy-winning director/producer Todd McFarlane, whose signature illustrations are interspersed with live Ozzy vignettes in the role of “Patient Number 9,” which the revolutionary creative force in the world of comics and toys also filmed. In addition, this is the first-ever video to incorporate Ozzy’s own artwork:  his hand-drawn demons were animated and can be seen during Jeff Beck‘s solo.

Ozzy Osbourne has a great guest list on this album: guitarists Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, and longstanding righthand man and six-string beast Zakk Wylde, who plays on the majority of the tracks. For the bulk of the album, Chad Smith of Red Hot Chili Peppers is on drums, while the late Taylor Hawkins of Foo Fighters made an appearance. Old friend and one time Ozzy band member Robert Trujillo of Metallica plays bass on most of the album’s tracks, with Duff McKagan of Guns N’ Roses and Chris Chaney of Jane’s Addiction supplying bass on a few songs. And, for the first time ever, Black Sabbath co-founder, guitarist, and riff-lord Tony Iommi appears on an Ozzy solo album.

Ozzy has stated, about the first single:

“The song is about a mental institution.  Having someone like Jeff Beck play on my album is just incredible, a total honor. There’s no other guitar player that plays like him and his solo on ‘Patient Number 9’ is just jaw-dropping.”

“Patient Number 9” track list:

1- Patient Number 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)

2- Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)

3- Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)

4- Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)

5- One of Those Days (feat. Eric Clapton)

6- A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)

7- No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)

8- Nothing Feels Right (feat. Zakk Wylde)

9- Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)

10- Degradation Rules (feat. Tony Iommi)

11- Dead and Gone

12- God Only Knows

13- Darkside Blues