Kataklysm announces new album “Goliath”

Author Hernan Osuna - 20.5.2023

American/French-Canadian melodic death metal group Kataklysm will unleash their fifteenth full-length studio album, “Goliath”, on August 11 via Nuclear Blast Records. The band has shared “Bringer Of Vengeance” the first single from the album and you can watch the Ivan Colic-directed music video below.

Kataklysm vocalist Maurizio Iacono states: “Our new album ‘Goliath’ comes at a time in our society where division and hate are growing and spreading on a worldwide basis, where ideologies on how the future should be for humanity is colliding. This is also a time of unprecedented power structures fighting for the control of our lives. The story of David versus Goliath has never been more important than these modern times.

Metal has always been a voice of rebellion against oppression and for the protection of our freedoms. The album also touches on inner conflict and doing what needs to be done to confront your inner demons“, he adds.

The Bringer Of Vengeance’ single’s main idea is about a carefully and patiently plotted revenge. The song is inspired by the events surrounding the assassination of King Richard I ‘The Lionheart’ and the idea that it might take time but, one day justice will always be served.“, Iacono concludes.

“Goliath” was recorded at JFD Studios in Dallas, Texas and Studio City, California as well as The Cabin in Orlando, Florida by Jean-François Dagenais, who also produced and engineered the album. For the mixing and mastering, the band returned to Chris Clancy with assistance from Colin Richardson.

“Goliath” tracklist:
01- Dark Wings Of Deception
02- Goliath
03- Die As A King
04- Bringer Of Vengeance
05- Combustion
06- From The Land Of The Living To The Land Of The Dead
07- The Redeemer
08- Heroes To Villains
09- Gravestones & Coffins
10- The Sacrifice For Truth