Von Hertzen Brothers unveils live album, drop single with live video

Author Hernan Osuna - 25.11.2023

Finnish progressive rock masters Von Hertzen Brothers have announced the release of their magical live performance at Tavastia, Finland, recorded earlier this year. Performing songs across their extensive catalogue, “Live at Tavastia” will be released as a live album on February 16, and the concert will also be available to watch as an on-demand stream.

To celebrate the announcement, the band have unveiled a wonderful taster of what to expect from Live at Tavastia with a single and video for the live version of “You Don’t Know My Name“.

Vocalist/guitarist Mikko von Hertzen commented: “There are a couple of things that we hear a lot on our tours around the world. One of them is, “I really like your studio albums, but now I’ve seen you play live, I get your band on a whole different level.”  We have been talking about releasing a live recording for as long as I can remember, and towards the end of our post-pandemic tour we decided to record and shoot a gig at our home venue here in Helsinki. There’s no such thing as a ‘regular VHB gig’, since for us, every night is always different and special. The night at Tavastia in February 2023 was an electrifying one and we hope that you get transported into that magical world through this recording. Play it loud!

“Live at Tavastia” will be released as a limited edition (1000) gatefold double vinyl LP, limited edition (1000) gatefold double CD, and on all streaming platforms. Pre-order / pre-save Live at Tavastia here: https://ffm.to/liveattavastia.OPR.

Blu-ray and T-shirt bundles will be available exclusively through the band’s website.

Live at Tavastia” is the first release since Von Hertzen Brothers‘ highly acclaimed 2022 album “Red Alert in the Blue Forest”, which Prog magazine described as “A masterpiece”. Von Hertzen Brothers have consistently achieved top 5 albums including three number 1s in their homeland with “Love Remains the Same” (2008), “Stars Aligned” (2011), “Nine Lives” (2013), “New Day Rising” (2015), “War Is Over” (2017) and “Red Alert In The Blue Forest”(2022).

Their ability to mould complex arrangements into vivid musical landscapes led to an Emma Award (the Finnish equivalent of a Grammy) and a Progressive Music ‘Anthem of the Year’ Award in the UK as well as nominations and plaudits along the way.

This success has made them one of the most important rock acts to have emerged from Finland in recent times. A stunning live force, the band have performed in 22 countries.

Track list:
01-Day of Reckoning
02-Blue Forest
03-The Promise
04-Frozen Butterflies
06-Peace Patrol
08-You Don’t Know My Name
09-Flowers and Rust
10-New Day Rising
11-All of a Sudden, You’re Gone
12-Long Lost Sailor
13-Sunday Child