Pearl Jam announces new album “Dark Matter”, unleashes title track

Author Hernan Osuna - 13.2.2024

American grunge legends Pearl Jam have announced their 12th studio album, “Dark Matter” — the follow-up to 2020’s “Gigaton” — and shared the LP’s title track.

“Dark Matter”, which was produced by Grammy award-winning producer Andrew Watt (Ozzy Osbourne, Post Malone, Miley Cyrus, Iggy Pop), will be released via Monkeywrench Records/Republic Records on April 19, 2024.

In 2023, the band retreated to Shangri-La Studios in Malibu where they simply plugged in and played under the watch of Watt. Writing and recording in a burst of inspiration, “Dark Matter” was born in just three weeks. As a result, the LP channels the shared spirit of a group of lifelong creative confidants and brothers in one room playing as if their very lives depended on it.

The album’s packaging features light painting art by Alexandr Gnezdilov. The album cover art was crafted using a large self-made kaleidoscope. Each letter visible on the cover was individually captured and handwritten midair with a specially designed flashlight to create the pearlescent effect.

In a recent interview with Classic Rock, Pearl Jam guitarist McCready described “Dark Matter” as “a lot heavier than you’d expect.”

Pre-order the album here.

“Dark Matter” tracklist:

Scared of Fear
React, Respond
Dark Matter
Won’t Tell
Upper Hand
Waiting for Stevie
Something Special
Got to Give
Setting Sun