Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds share title track of new album “Wild God”

Author Arto Mäenpää - 7.3.2024

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds are gearing up to release their 18th studio album, “Wild God,” on August 30, and fans can now listen to the title track, freshly released.

Cave initiated the creation of the ten-song album on January 1, 2023, and worked on “Wild God” alongside his longtime collaborator Warren Ellis at Miraval in Provence and Soundtree in London. Reflecting on the album, Cave states:

“I hope the album has the effect on listeners that it’s had on me. It bursts out of the speaker, and I get swept up with it. It’s a complicated record, but it’s also deeply and joyously infectious. There is never a master plan when we make a record. The records rather reflect back the emotional state of the writers and musicians who played them. Listening to this, I don’t know, it seems we’re happy.”

“There’s no messing around with this record. When it hits, it hits. It lifts you. It moves you. I love that about it.”

“Wild God” will be available on Bad Seed in partnership with Play It Again Sam on various platforms including streaming, CD, and standard and limited edition vinyl.

Here’s the track listing for the album:

  1. Song of the Lake
  2. Wild God
  3. Frogs
  4. Joy
  5. Final Rescue Attempt
  6. Conversion
  7. Cinnamon Horses
  8. Long Dark Night
  9. O Wow O Wow (How Wonderful She Is)
  10. As the Waters Cover the Sea

You can watch the video for the album’s title track below: