Nick Cave and Warren Ellis release first single from the soundtrack of a French documentary film

Author Stefanie Nysand - 28.11.2021

Nick Cave, frontman of the rock band Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds, has once again teamed up with his bandmate Warren Ellis, in order to compose a soundtrack. This time, it is a soundtrack for the French documentary film “Les Panthère Des Neiges”. The first single from the score, “We Are Not Alone“, has now been released digitally, along with a music video that features scenes from said film. You can check out the video below:

The single version of “We Are Not Alone” differs from the one on the soundtrack. The soundtrack will be released digitally on 17 December 2021 via Invada Records and Lakeshore Records.

The documentary film “Les Panthère Des Neiges” will be released in the US on 22 December 2021, under the name “The Velvet Queen”. The release dates for other countries have yet to be announced. In “Les Panthère Des Neiges”, director Marie Amiguet accompanies photographer Vincent Munier and writer Sylvain Tesson to the Tibetan highlands, on their quest to spot snow leopards which are rare and difficult to track down.

The soundtrack has been described as one of Ellis’ and Cave’s “most heartfelt and haunting film projects”. Warren Ellis describes the work on the project as follows:

“There is something about the heart of this film that draws you in. I realized after a day, that I wanted to do whatever it took to compose an entire original score. The film deserved to have its own musical voice. I booked five days and asked Nick if he could come in for a day to write a theme song and play some piano. He saw the film and stayed for four days. In the end we made what I think is one of the most beautiful films we have ever worked on. One of my favorite experiences ever working on a project. The stars are the animals in all their wild glory, as we have never seen them before, and man in reverence and wonder.”– Warren Ellis

Also the cover artwork and the tracklist of the score have already been revealed:


01 L’attaque de Loups
02 Les Cerfs
03 Antilope
04 La Bête
05 Les Yaks
06 Des Affûts Elliptiques
07 Les Nomades
08 La Grotte
09 Les Princes
10 La Neige Tombe
11 Les Ours
12 Un Être Vous Obsède
13 L’apparition: We Are Not Alone