Folkrim unleashes folk-infused metal fury “Suoherran Hovi”

Author Benedetta Baldin - 14.3.2024

Folkrim, emerging from the dark solitude of Finland’s western coast, has evolved from a one-man project to a fully formed folk-infused death metal band. Comprising drummer Eetu Ritakorpi, guitarists Iiro Sarman & Otto Hyvärinen, bassist Viktor Suominen, and frontman Erno Helander, Folkrim is ready to spread fear with their new full-length album, “Embers”.

“Embers” tells a twisted tale of descent, from a shipwreck through decaying marshlands to a grand epic of destruction. Songs like “Bottle of Poison” showcase a modern structure filled with violence and speed. Viktor Suominen describes the album as more grounded, sticking to a single theme, with a journey that gets progressively gloomy and dire. The band’s sound has shifted towards less humppa/drinking songs and more towards melodic death and thrash.

Influenced by bands like Ensiferum, Finntroll, Moonsorrow, Children of Bodom, and NekrogoblikonFolkrim‘s music blends folk metal with melodic death and black metal elements. “Embers” promises a unique musical journey, reflecting the band’s evolution and commitment to their distinct sound. The future awaits, daring listeners to face the dangers along the way.

Step into the enchanting world of Folkrim with “Suoherran Hovi the latest single accompanied by an electrifying video is set to be released today March 14, 2024. Experience the raw energy of this track as fat, chuggy, and groovy riffs intertwine with a pounding drumbeat, creating a dirty, almost jazzlike atmosphere. Sprinkled with growls in the harsh Finnish language, “Suoherran Hovi” invites you to immerse yourself in the mystical realms of Folkrim. Don’t resist the catchy chorus – chant, hum, wail out of tune – just come and join us in the Halls of the Swamplord!

Listen to “Suoherran Hovi” at the following links:

Music Video – 

Digital –

Listen to previous single “Bottle Of Poison” at the following links:

Music Video – 

Digital –

Recommended for fans of Ensiferum, Finntroll, Moonsorrow, Children of Bodom, Nekrogoblikon Folkrim‘s full-lenght album “Embers” is due out on April 5, 2024 from Rockshots Records.

Album pre-order –

Track Listing:​

1. Bound in Maelstrom
2. Bottle of Poison
3. Alcoholyday
4. Grotto of the Damned
5. Swamp Brew
6. Suoherran Hovi
7. Hags’ Hut Lullaby
8. Raise Your Sword
9. Raven’s Cry
10. Spirit of the Forest
11. Virvatulet
12. Embers

Album Credits:​

Producer Iiro Sarman
Mixing engineer Iiro Sarman
Mastering engineer Miro Kiiski (miromastering)
Cover by: Erno Helander
All songs by Folkrim

Folkrim are:

Erno Helander: Vocals / main songwriter
Iiro Sarman: Lead Guitars
Otto Hyvärinen: Rhythm Guitars
Viktor Suominen: Bass
Eetu Ritakorpi: Drums