Photo Credit: Anton Corbijn

Depeche Mode: Music video for “Ghosts Again” released, album on the way

Author Stefanie Nysand - 13.2.2023

Depeche Mode have released a new single, entitled “Ghosts Again“, along with a music video. You can check out the video below:

The music video was directed by Depeche Mode‘s longtime visual collaborator Anton Corbijn.

Ghosts Again” is the first single from Depeche Mode‘s upcoming 15th studio album “Memento Mori” which will be released on 24 March 2023 via Columbia Records and Mute Records. “Ghosts Again” marks Depeche Mode‘s first musical release since the death of band member Andy Fletcher in May 2022.

The album “Memento Mori” can already be pre-ordered here. Also the album cover and the album’s tracklist have already been revealed:


01 My Cosmos Is Mine
02 Wagging Tongue
03 Ghosts Again
04 Don’t Say You Love Me
05 My Favourite Stranger
06 Soul With Me
07 Caroline’s Monkey
08 Before We Drown
09 People Are Good
10 Always You
11 Never Let Me Go
12 Speak To Me

In an interview with NME in October 2022, Depeche Mode lead singer Dave Gahan commented on the death of Andy Fletcher and the recording process of “Memento Mori” as follows:

“Fletch was probably, let’s just say, the least of all of us in terms of excesses. That was always the knowing joke – that Fletch was going to outlive all of us. ‘He’s still here, isn’t he?’ Now he’s not, and it still doesn’t feel real. When Martin and I were in the studio over the last couple of months, that was odd. We had already started recording and [Fletch] was supposed to come and join us. He would sit there, he would listen and he would make his comments. I missed that. It’s not until you lose someone that you realise these things.”– Dave Gahan

Andy Fletcher, keyboardist and founding member of Depeche Mode, passed away on 26 May 2022, aged 60, due to an aortic dissection.