Credit – Jørn Steen

Darkthrone premiere new song “Caravan Of Broken Ghosts”

Author Flavia Andrade - 20.10.2022

With the release of their highly anticipated new album “Astral Fortress”, out on October 28 via Peaceville records, Darkthrone have premiered the song “Caravan Of Broken Ghosts” alongside a lyric video, filmed by Fenriz and created by Matthew Vickerstaff.

About the song, Fenriz says:

“There is a revisit vibe of ‘Quintessence’ at first, which is a total coincidence as it is Ted’s song and I wrote ‘Q’. The song then explodes into fiercer metal, pounding and catching there as well, with clever riff shifts. And then the classic doom ending. Thank you, Ted.”

Caravan Of Broken Ghosts” will be available on all major streaming platforms from Thursday, October 20.

The ever-productive duo of Nocturno and Fenriz continue their own metallic saga with a new selection of fine, vintage sounding headbanging classics in the making. “Astral Fortress”, the band’s 20th album, is a swift follow-up to 2021’s “Eternal Hails” opus, which comes from Darkthrone’s consistent and ongoing writing process, which has been in force for some years now. For Darkthrone does not sleep – it only waits.

Carried on the brisk wind of eager rock, with foundations in black, thrash, doom and heavy metal, “Astral Fortress” is the latest album of stellar, eclectic old metal in the Darkthrone odyssey. With a seemingly endless dungeon full of heavy metal influences channelled through Darkthrone’s dynamic riff-machine, plus also with many increasing inspirations taken from their own past catalogue. Even though sprinkled with atmospheric touches such as synthesizers and mellotron, on “Astral Fortress”, to great effect, the Darkthrone sound remains stripped down to the core; always primitive and organic. Darkthrone has truly become its own beast within the metal world.

“Astral Fortress” was recorded at Chaka Khan Studios in Oslo, the same location used for the “Eternal Hails” album, with Ole Øvstedal and Silje Høgevold and the album was mastered by Jack Control.

You can watch the lyric video below:

You can watch Fenriz’s comment about the video here.

“Astral Fortress” tracklisting:

1. Caravan Of Broken Ghosts

2. Impeccable Caverns Of Satan

3. Stalagmite Necklace

4. The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea

5. Kevorkian Times

6. Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests

7. Eon 2

“Astral Fortress” is available on the following formats and pre-orders are available here.

  • Limited Edition Deluxe boxed edition: includes Astral Fortress on CD, an exclusive clear vinyl LP & cassette, a printed letter from Fenriz and exclusive art prints all housed in a heavy duty lift off lid box
  • Limited edition curacao blue coloured LP – exclusively available through the Peaceville stores
  • CD
  • LP
  • Digital
  • Plus other limited edition coloured vinyl LPs are available in stores across the world – gold, white, yellow, green, purple and silver .. a collectors dream… if you can find them!