Darkthrone announce new album “Astral Fortress”

Author Flavia Andrade - 8.9.2022

Darkthrone have announced their new album, “Astral Fortress”, out on October 28, via Peaceville Records.

Fenriz says:

“As usual, Ted [Nocturno Culto] makes music by playing himself and riffs just come to me. I think since 2016’s “Arctic Thunder”, we have mostly been inspired by our own back catalogue. I can hear many of my riffs eventually sounding like a plethora of bands but this seldom seems to correlate with what others hear. As you’ll know by now I never talk about the lyrics or the inspiration behind them and I would never want any lyrics that I like of others to be explained to me but I will tell you this, it is darker than ever, it is seething with hell.”

The band describe the upcoming release as sounding rather vintage, featuring the use of mellotron and synthesizer, and, in terms of lyrics, just check Fenriz’s description above.

“Astral Fortress” tracklisting:

1. Caravan Of Broken Ghosts
2. Impeccable Caverns Of Satan
3. Stalagmite Necklace
4. The Sea Beneath The Seas Of The Sea
5. Kevorkian Times
6. Kolbotn, West Of The Vast Forests
7. Eon 2

You can check out Darkthrone‘s original post below: