‘The Innermost Journey To Your Outermost Mind’: a solo album waiting to be released by the former Hanoi Rocks bassist Sami Yaffa

Author Annija Raga - 21.7.2021

Bassist Sami Yaffa, most known from the legendary Finnish band Hanoi Rocks, as well as Michael Monroe ’s solo band, is releasing the first solo album of his career called “The Innermost Journey to Your Outermost Mind” on September 3rd via Livewire/Cargo Records.

” The idea of a solo album started to take shape a few years back. Previously I had written music for the New York Dolls and the Michael Monroe Band, but some of the songs that I was writing started to sound more and more like my own stuff, instead of what I would write for those bands. “

Sami Yaffa

So what kind of music then can we expect from Sami’s upcoming album? The musician himself comments:

” I’ve always loved bands like The Clash and The Rolling Stones. They could write country, funk, reggae, rock n’ roll or jazz without any fear and make it their own. I wanted to have the same kind of versatility and freedom on my own record. However, my roots are deeply in punk and rock n’ roll, I don’t shy away from that. “

Sami Yaffa

Track listing:

  1. Armageddon Together
  2. Selling Me Shit
  3. Fortunate One
  4. Rotten Roots
  5. Germinator
  6. Down At St. Joe’s
  7. I Can’t Stand It
  8. You Gimme Fever
  9. The Last Time
  10. Look Ahead
  11. Cancel The End Of The World

Album’s recording line-up:

Sami Yaffa – vocals, bass guitar (Hanoi Rocks, Michael Monroe Band, New York Dolls)
Rich Jones – guitars (Michael Monroe Band)
Christian Martucci – guitars (Stone Sour)
Rane Raitsikka – guitars (Smack)
Timo Kaltio – guitars (Izzy Stradlin, Cheap And Nasty)
Janne Haavisto – drums