Tarja announces new LP “Dark Christmas”, drops first single “Frosty The Snowman”

Author Hernan Osuna - 1.11.2023

Finnish vocalist Tarja Turunen has announced a new LP called “Dark Christmas”, the sequel to her 2017 album “From Spirits And Ghosts (Score For A Dark Christmas)”, which is going to be released on November 10 via earMUSIC. Now, the Kitee-born soprano has shared the first single “Frosty The Snowman” and you can watch the official video below.

With enchanting and captivating renditions of well-known Christmas songs such as Wham! ‘s “Last Christmas“, Mariah Carey‘s “All I Want For Christmas Is You“, Paul McCartney’s ‘Wonderful Christmastime’, classics such as “Jingle Bells“, “Frosty The Snowman” and “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer“, as well as Tarja‘s brand new original song “Dark Christmas“, it’s the perfect album for those who want to embrace the holiday spirit while exploring a more mysterious side of the season.

It was fascinating to dive into this new world,” says Tarja. “You will appreciate these Christmas songs with our spooky arrangements truly sound in a way they never did before. It was my pleasure to team up once again with Jim Dooley and Tim Palmer. I hope you will dig in our take of a Dark Christmas spirit.

The release will be accompanied by 12 music videos – one video for each song on the album, as well as a full-length music feature film, which will be available on all supported platforms with an immersive Dolby Atmos audio mix.

“Dark Christmas” will be released on 1CD Digipak, 2LP (Gatefold, 180g, black), Ltd. Christmas Green Splatter 2LP (Gatefold, 180g), and on Digital. Pre-order your copy here.

“Dark Christmas” tracklisting:

The First Noel
Frosty The Snowman
Holy Night
Dark Christmas
Jingle Bell Rock
White Christmas
All I Want For Christmas Is You
Wonderful Christmastime
Last Christmas
Jingle Bells
Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
Angels We Have Heard On High