Russia is banned from Eurovision 2022 for the invasion of Ukraine

Author Arto Mäenpää - 26.2.2022

The Eurovision Song Contest, which is an international songwriting competition hosted by the European Broadcasting Union, has officially ousted Russia from the event this year as a result of the country’s invasion of Ukraine.

Eurovision 2022 will take place from May 10 though the 14 in Turin, Italy. Each country involved in the competition selects a performer to represent them, who will play an unreleased song no more than three minutes in length. The winning country hosts the contest the succeeding year.

As of yesterday, the EBU declared that Russia would still be able to participate in the competition after Ukraine requested they be forbidden. After many countries saying they won’t participate if Russia will be on the competition EBU has now changed its stance on Russia’s inclusion in Eurovision, and has released a statement announcing the decision to ban the nation. You can read it below:

“The EBU has announced that no Russian act will participate in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.

The Executive Board of the EBU made the decision following a recommendation earlier today by the Eurovision Song Contest’s governing body, the Reference Group, based on the rules of the event and the values of the EBU. The Reference Group recommendation was also supported by the EBU’s Television Committee.

The decision reflects concern that, in light of the unprecedented crisis in Ukraine, the inclusion of a Russian entry in this year’s Contest would bring the competition into disrepute.

Before making this decision the EBU took time to consult widely among its membership.

The EBU is an apolitical member organization of broadcasters committed to upholding the values of public service.

We remain dedicated to protecting the values of a cultural competition which promotes international exchange and understanding, brings audiences together, celebrates diversity through music and unites Europe on one stage.”