Paul Gilbert to release a Ronnie James Dio’s cover album

Author Silvia Tortiglione - 3.2.2023

American guitarist Paul Gilbert (Racer X, Mr. Big) has announced the release of an album entirely dedicated to covers of the giant Ronnie James Dio. This “The Dio Album” will be released on 7 April 2023 via Music Theories Recordings/Mascot Label Group. The pieces will be solely instrumental and taken from the singer’s entire career, paraphrasing songs from the Black Sabbath, Rainbow, and Dio eras.

Here’s the complete tracklist:

  1. Neon Knights
  2. Kill The King
  3. Stand Up And Shout
  4. Country Girl
  5. Man On The Silver Mountain
  6. Holy Diver
  7. Heaven And Hell
  8. Long Live Rock ‘N’ Roll
  9. Lady Evil
  10. Don’t Talk To Strangers
  11. Starstruck
  12. The Last In Line

And the first single “Holy Diver”:

Official cover art: