Apocalyptica releases their version of Metallica’s “The Call of Ktulu” featuring original bassline from Cliff Burton

Author Lucia Bellapianta - 7.6.2024

Apocalyptica announced the fourth and final single “The Call of Ktulu” from “Apocalyptica Plays Metallica, Vol. 2”, the sequel to their debut record. The preceding three singles were reinterpretations of “The Four Horsemen”, “The Unforgiven II” and “One”. This single though featured the original bassline laid down by Cliff Burton, legendary bassist of Metallica, who tragically lost his life in a tour bus accident in 1986.  

Apocalyptica’s “The Call Of Ktulu“, the original of which first appeared on Metallica’s second album “Ride The Lightning” (1984), serves as a tribute to Cliff Burton, whose musical legacy still lives on. Metallica and the family of Cliff Burton themselves were all enthusiastically behind the idea of this single.

“I’ve learned in life that if you have crazy ideas, it’s always worth asking, so I called Lars! He was like, ‘I love that you guys always think outside of the box!’ James [Hetfield] loved the idea and I met one of Cliff’s close relatives and she did, too. It was a spiritual experience working on this. We wanted to treat this with honour and maximum respect, and it was magical to have people so close to Cliff say that he would have loved it.”

Eicca Toppinen, founder of Apocalyptica

“Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2” was produced by longtime collaborator Joe Barresi (Queens of the Stone Age, Soundgarden, Nine Inch Nails, Tool) and will be released via the new label Throwdown Entertainment on June 7th.

Tracklisting of “Apocalyptica Plays Metallica, Vol. 2”:

  1. Ride the Lightning
  2. St. Anger
  3. The Unforgiven II
  4. Blackened
  5. The Call of Ktulu (in memory of Cliff Burton)
  6. The Four Horsemen (ft. Rob Trujillo)
  7. Holier Than Thou
  8. To Live Is To Die
  9. One (ft.. James Hetfield)
  10. One (Instrumental)