Voivod drops new single “Condemned To The Gallows (2023 Version)”

Author Hernan Osuna - 14.6.2023

Canadian sci-fi metal innovators Voivod are celebrating 40 eventful years of existence in 2023 and therefore announced a special anniversary studio album entitled “Morgöth Tales”, set to be released on July 21, 2023 via Century Media Records.

The LP’s second single is “Condemned To The Gallows (2023 Version)”, which is a very special choice, as it once marked the band’s first-ever song released on an album, originally appearing on the “Metal Massacre V” compilation back in 1984. You can listen to the track below.

Voivod frontman Denis “Snake” Bélanger has checked in with a comment about “Condemned To The Gallows (2023 Version)”: “The Morgöth Tales album starts where it all began. ‘Condemned To The Gallows’ was the first song ever recorded in a studio. I recall being shocked, hearing my voice for the first time, and I was a bit intimidated. I had joined the band only a few months prior to that and I didn’t know how to sing or even if was capable of doing the job. So I jumped in, and this 40 year adventure was about to begin. Revisiting this song was a real trip. Going back in time when we were young and wild, recapturing that same fury inside that led us up to now made me realize that the spirit never gets old. Thanks to Mom, who kept well preserved, the only lyrics sheet existing on the surface of this planet, with my smudged left handed writing. Otherwise we would have been screwed.

Once more recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Studio, mastered by Maor Appelbaum and produced by Voivod, “Morgöth Tales” includes fresh studio (re-)recordings by the band’s current line-up of 9 especially selected, not-so-obvious picks from the group’s hyper-classy and extremely diverse back catalog (between 1984 and 2003) as well as a brand-new song in the album’s title-track, “Morgöth Tales“.

The cover artwork for the new LP was once again created by Voivod’s drummer Michel “Away” Langevin.

Voivod– “Morgöth Tales” tracklisting
01- Condemned To The Gallows (2023 Version) [Originally on Metal Massacre V Compilation, 1984]
02- Thrashing Rage (2023 Version) [Originally on “Rrröööaaarrr”, 1986]
03- Killing Technology (2023 Version) [Originally on “Killing Technology”, 1987]
04- Macrosolutions To Megaproblems (2023 Version) [Originally on“Dimension Hatröss”, 1988]
05- Pre-Ignition (2023 Version) [Originally on “Nothingface”, 1989]
06- Nuage Fractal (2023 Version) [Originally on “Angel Rat”, 1991]
07- Fix My Heart (2023 Version) [Originally on “The Outer Limits”, 1993]
08- Rise (2023 Version, feat. Eric Forrest) [Originally on “Phobos”, 1997]
09- Rebel Robot (2023 Version, feat. Jason Newsted) [Originally on “Voivod”, 2003]
10- Morgöth Tales [New Song]

Voivod are currently touring across Europe as part of their 40th Anniversary celebration, so catch them live on the upcoming shows:

VOIVOD – Live 2023:
June 13, 2023 – Hamburg (Germany) – Markthalle w/ Testament
June 14, 2023 – Amersfoort (The Netherlands) – Flour
June 15, 2023 – Wasquehal / Lille (France) – The Black Lab
June 17, 2023 – Clisson (France) – Hellfest
June 18, 2023 – Dessel (Belgium) – Graspop Metal Meeting
June 22, 2023 – Oslo (Norway) – Tons of Rock Festival
July 13, 2023 – Trois Rivieres, QC (Canada) – Expo Agricole de Trois-Rivières
Aug. 5, 2023 – Wacken (Germany) – Wacken Open Air
Aug. 7, 2023 – Copenhagen (Denmark) – Beta
Aug. 8, 2023 – Aalborg (Denmark) – 1000Fryd
Aug 9, 2023 – Stockholm (Sweden) – Nalen Klubb
Aug. 11, 2023 – Helsinki (Finland) – Helsinki Metal Festival
Sept. 7, 2023 – São Paulo (Brazil) – Septembro Negro Festival / Pre-Festa
Sept. 15, 2023 – Quebec City, QC (Canada) – Envol et Macadam Festival
Sept. 22, 2023 – Gaspé, QC (Canada) – Centre de Création Diffusion de Gaspé
Sept. 23, 2023 – Rimouski, QC (Canada) – Salle Desjardins-Telus