The Troops Of Doom feat. Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz (ex-Sepultura) working on second album

Author Flavia Andrade - 22.11.2023

The Troops Of Doom, the Brazilian extreme metal outfit featuring ex-Sepultura guitarist Jairo “Tormentor” Guedz, are readying their second full-length album.

Since the release of “Antichrist Reborn“, Guedz, Alex Kafer (vocals and bass), Marcelo Vasco (guitar) and Alexandre Oliveira (drums) have played concerts in Brazil and the rest of South America.

Guedz said:

These were very important shows, such as the Abril Pro Rock festival in Recife, Sesc Belenzinho (SP), which was actually our first complete show and sold out. We played alongside Cavalera, which were historic shows, and we toured various cities in Brazil and countries like Argentina, Chile, and Peru alongside I Am Morbid, featuring David Vincent (ex-Morbid Angel). It was a tumultuous period, in a good way, and I already miss that life on the road, but we decided to take a break for a very plausible reason, which is our new album.

The band have recently renewed its contract with the Portuguese label Alma Mater Records, co-owned by Fernando Ribeiro of Moonspell. Although a release date hasn’t yet been announced, the plans are for it to take place in the first semester of 2024.

Oliveira added:

Fernando and Pedro from Alma Mater Records are not sparing any effort and truly believe in our potential. They are incredible people, very professional, and support us in all decisions, working in the right way to make everything happen smoothly. We are happy to have renewed the contract with them.

Vasco commented:

Things are taking shape. Jairo and I were together in October where I live, in the Serra Gaúcha, working on the pre-production of the album, which is practically ready. We are now working on the lyrics and vocal arrangements. The album title has already been chosen, and there is a lot of awesome stuff being planned. We are preparing something truly special. You can trust us!

You can watch a video shared by the band regarding the new album below: