Photo: Venla Shalin

The Rasmus to perform song and participate at Finland’s UMK in Eurovision finalist 2022 bid

Author Arto Mäenpää - 22.2.2022

Multi-platinum selling Finnish rock band The Rasmus recently released their infectious new single and Eurovision finalist entry bid “Jezebel” to rapturous acclaim, at the same time introducing their incredible new guitarist Emilia ‘Emppu’ Suhonen who has undoubtedly brought a whole new energy to the band and already proved popular with fans.

Today, The Rasmus release the darkly seductive official music video for the track. The video was directed by internationally awarded film director Jesse Haaja, who previously directed the video for “Wonderman” from the band’s “Dark Matters” album.

Watch the provocative and cinematic “Jezebel” below:

Vocalist Lauri Ylönen comments:

“Emppu is the Star of the video! We wanted to introduce her to the world big time. After all she is like Jezebel, rebellious and dangerous!” He adds, “I enjoyed being tied up to the bed and tortured. I’ve always pushed myself to the limit at every video shoot.”

Guitarist and newest member Emppu Suhonen enthuses:

“For me the most fun in this music video was to be the one who helps Lauri out of trouble with huge bolt cutters. Never used those before!”

Photo by Venla Shalin

Director Jesse Haaja says:

“After I finished my previous feature film, I promised to myself and to my family that I’m taking a long break from the film industry. But then Lauri called me and I promised to listen to Jezebel and think about it. After 5 seconds of playing it, both of my daughters were dancing in the living room and the decision was made to do the video.”

”Jezebel was a big shoot with a high production value, which is very rare for music videos these days. If The Rasmus ever need me again, I’m in!”

Jezebel’ was co-written and produced by Desmond Child, who collaborated with The Rasmus on their seventh studio album ‘Black Roses’. Child is responsible for formulating some of rock’s biggest hits, with co-writer and production credits on iconic songs by KISS, Bon Jovi, Aerosmith and Alice Cooper.

Speaking about the collaboration, Desmond Child says:

“Lauri gives me a call and says ‘Hey, I need to write the biggest, greatest song in the entire world, ever. Will you do it [with me]?’ and I said ‘Yeah but I am in Folegandros (Greece)’ and he says, ‘I’ll be right there’. Jezebel is an homage, a tribute, to the strong women of today, who own their bodies, who are in charge of their sensuality, their sexuality, and who are determined to be an equal.”

Tipped by bookies as the favorites to win, The Rasmus will compete in Finland’s annual Eurovision selection contest, Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (The New Music Competition) on February 26, 2022. The final will be shown live on Yle TV1, Yle Areena and Yle’s radio channels from 9 pm to 11 pm EET. The winner and Finland’s next Eurovision Song Contest participant will be chosen by TV viewers and the International UMK Jury. Those outside of Finland can watch the show at at 20:00 CET.

The Rasmus will embark on a World Tour in the fall of 2022.


Mon 10 Germany Hamburg Markthalle
Tue 11 Germany Berlin Metropol
Wed 12 Poland Warsaw Proxima
Thu 13 Poland Krakow Kwadrat
Fri 14 Germany Leipzig Taubchental
Sat 15 Czech Rep. Prague Forum Karlin
Mon 17 Hungary Budapest BNMC
Tue 18 Austria Vienna Ottakringer Brauerei
Wed 19 Germany Munich Neue Theaterfabrik
Fri 21 Italy Milan Fabrique
Sat 22 Switzerland Bern Bierhubeli
Sun 23 France Paris La Maroquinerie
Mon 24 Luxembourg Esch-Sur-Alzette Rockhal
Tue 25 Germany Wiesbaden Schlachthof (Halfhouse)
Thu 27 Germany Cologne LMH
Fri 28 Holland Haarlem Patronaat
Sun 30 England Nottingham Rock City
Mon 31 England Manchester O2 Ritz

Tue 01 Scotland Glasgow Garage
Wed 02 England Bristol O2 Academy
Thu 03 England London O2 Forum Kentish Town
Sat 05 Ukraine Kiev Mc Hall
Sun 06 Ukraine Lviv Malevich Club
Mon 07 Ukraine Odessa Musical Comedy Theatre
Tue 08 Ukraine Dnipro Shynnic House Of Culture
Wed 09 Ukraine Kharkiv Mekhanika
Fri 11 Russia Moscow Stadium
Sat 12 Russia St Petersburg A2

The Rasmus are:
Lauri Ylönen – vocals
Eero Heinonen – bass
Emppu Suhonen – guitars
Aki Hakala – drums

The Rasmus online: