The Rasmus parts ways with founding guitarist Pauli Rantasalmi, announces replacement

Author Jad - 16.1.2022

Finnish rock band The Rasmus has entered Finland’s annual Eurovision selection contest, “Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu” (UMK; The New Music Competition). The band has also announced the release of its Eurovision entry bid and new single, “Jezebel“, which will be available on January 17, 2022.

However, there is more to say about The Rasmus, as they have announced that founding guitarist Pauli Rantasalmi has left the band.

I have decided to make my departure from the band and seek for new adventures and challenges in life.

I want to thank everybody that has made this journey possible, especially all you amazing fans, for the best moments and memories. I love you.

I’m eternally thankful to my band brothers for everything and wish the best from the bottom of my heart. Lauri, Aki and Eero, I love you.

Music lives forever!

This is not the end. It’s just time to turn the page.

Pauli comments

The remaining band members emphasize that it is an amicable split.

We have always been like a family, more like brothers than a band. We are still very good friends, and we wish Pauli all the best.


The torch is passed to Finnish guitarist and singer Emilia “Emppu” Suhonen.

I got a very surprising call in the fall and answered ‘yes.’ Although I was a bit nervous to go to the rehearsal room with the guys for the first time for a test drive, I still had a strong feeling that this would be a good thing. That feeling turned out to be right and playing together felt totally natural right from the first riff. I am The Rasmus‘s new guitarist, and it’s pretty insane to be on this ride.

At the moment, I’m getting ready for the UMK and the upcoming gigs with this awesome band I’m now in, The Rasmus. Being part of this group is a dream come true on so many levels.”

Emppu speaks of her invitation to join The Rasmus

Armed with a new arsenal of songs and a revitalized lineup, The Rasmus will embark on a world tour in the fall of 2022.

Confirmed tour dates:

Oct. 10 – Germany Hamburg Markthalle
Oct. 11 – Germany Berlin Metropol
Oct. 12 – Poland Warsaw Proxima
Oct. 13 – Poland Krakow Kwadrat
Oct. 14 – Germany Leipzig Taubchental
Oct. 15 – Czech Rep. Prague Forum Karlin
Oct. 17 – Hungary Budapest BNMC
Oct. 18 – Austria Vienna Ottakringer Brauerei
Oct. 19 – Germany Munich Neue Theaterfabrik
Oct. 21 – Italy Milan Fabrique
Oct. 22 – Switzerland Bern Bierhubeli
Oct. 23 – France Paris La Maroquinerie
Oct. 24 – Luxembourg Esch-Sur-Alzette Rockhal
Oct. 25 – Germany Wiesbaden Schlachthof (Halfhouse)
Oct. 27 – Germany Cologne LMH
Oct. 28 – Holland Haarlem Patronaat
Oct. 30 – England Nottingham Rock City
Oct. 31 – England Manchester O2 Ritz
Nov. 01 – Scotland Glasgow Garage
Nov. 02 – England Bristol O2 Academy
Nov. 03 – England London O2 Forum Kentish Town
Nov. 05 – Ukraine Kiev Mc Hall
Nov. 06 – Ukraine Lviv Malevich Club
Nov. 07 – Ukraine Odessa Musical Comedy Theatre
Nov. 08 – Ukraine Dnipro Shynnic House Of Culture
Nov. 09 – Ukraine Kharekiv Mekhanika
Nov. 11 – Russia Moscow Stadium
Nov. 12 – Russia St Petersburg A2

The Rasmus is:

Lauri Ylönen – vocals
Eero Heinonen – bass
Emppu Suhonen – guitars
Aki Hakala – drums