Pillow Queens announces new album “Name Your Sorrow”, drops music video for “Gone”

Author Hernan Osuna - 28.1.2024

Dublin indie rockers Pillow Queens have announced their third studio album, “Name Your Sorrow”, set to be released on April 19 via Royal Mountain Records. The band have also shared a new song, “Gone“, and will play Ireland’s Iveagh Gardens, Dublin on July 13.

According to lead guitarist and vocalist Cathy McGuinness, “Name Your Sorrow'” is “about the stages of love, loss and grief and how they can all coexist – intertwined, messy, beautiful” and will see the band delve deep into themes of desire, queerness, insecurity and personal growth.

Pillow Queens recorded the new album with Collin Pastore at the Northern Ireland studio Analogue Catalogue.

Speaking more about the lead single (which follows November release ‘Suffer’) they have commented: “‘Gone’ is a song that looks into the vapid nature of brief romantic encounters and the hyperbole that can become so monotonous, it makes you jaded. Lines like, ‘I was in your top five things to do’ convey a lack of self-worth that’s tackled throughout the album. It’s a song that showcases a vulnerability that allows for no silver linings–it’s the reality of how someone is feeling in the moment.” 

Pre-order “Name Your Sorrow” here.


01- February 8th
02- Suffer
03- Like A Lesson
04- Blew Up The World
05- Friend Of Mine
06- The Bar’s Closed
07- Gone
08- So Kind
09- Heavy Pour
10- One Night
11- Love II
12- Notes On Worth

Pillow Queens live:

JUNE 2024
05 Leeds, Wardrobe
06 Bristol, The Fleece
07 London, Brixton Electric
08 Manchester, YES (Pink Room)
10 Newcastle, Cluny
11 Glasgow, Saint Luke’s

JULY 2024
13 Dublin, Iveagh Gardens