P.O.D. release lyric video with subtitles in four different languages

Author Flavia Andrade - 19.8.2022

As history repeats itself, the significance of certain statements strengthens over time. Back in 2008, P.O.D. first presented their seventh full-length LP, “When Angels & Serpents Dance”, upon an unsuspecting world. It immediately reacted with audiences, bowing at #9 on the Billboard Top 200 as their fourth consecutive Top 10 debut on the respective chart.

However, its themes, observations, and messages only resonate louder in 2022. The multi-GRAMMY® Award-nominated multiplatinum genre-busting San Diego band reupped, remixed, and remastered the original thirteen songs, adding another three tracks from the vault to complete the vision.
Now, the quartet—Sonny Sandoval (vocals), Marcos Curiel (guitar), Traa Daniels (bass), and Wuv Bernardo (drums)—re-release “When Angels & Serpents Dance” at just the right moment, via Mascot Records.

In Sonny’s words:

“It was a new chapter. A lot of personal things happened during the record, so it ended up being lyrically heavier and darker. I see P.O.D. albums as chapters from beginning to end. From our previous releases to the next album, we’ll put out in 2023, each one is a timeline of where we’re at, what we’re going through, and who we are.”

Marcos recalls:

“In terms of the music, we were flirting with a lot of different elements at the time. Now, I’m stoked it’s actually going to be available again. It’s a record I think people need to hear. What Sonny is singing about seems like it’s more relevant today—maybe even more so than it was back then.”

The record not only proved important for a myriad of creative reasons, but also for a big personal reason as well. After a three-year hiatus from P.O.D., Marcos returned to the fold. He rejoined the guys for a special New Year’s Eve performance on ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel LIVE! before kicking off 2007 with a renewed sense of collective purpose together. 

Sonny continues:

“It was special, because Marcos had come back. When he rejoined, we were free to be us. We really enjoyed making the record as this united brotherhood again.”

You can watch the video below:

“When Angels & Serpents Dance” tracklisting:

1. Addicted
2. Shine With Me
3. Condescending
4. It Can’t Rain Everyday
5. Kaliforn-Eye-A (feat. Mike Muir)
6. I’ll Be Ready (feat. The Marley Girls)
7. End Of The World
8. This Ain’t No Ordinary Love Song
9. God Forbid (feat. Page Hamilton)
10. Roman Empire
11. When Angels & Serpents Dance
12. Tell Me Why
13. Rise Against
14. Don’t Fake It
15 .Ridin’ With You
16. Walk On Water