Photo credit: Mike Elliott

Lorna Shore release video for “Pain Remains III: In a Sea of Fire”; new album out now

Author Flavia Andrade - 14.10.2022

Today marks the epic conclusion of “The Pain Trilogy” from Lorna Shore: the video for “Pain Remains III: In a Sea of Fire“, directed by David Brodsky has now been released, alongside the band’s new album, “Pain Remains”, via Century Media Records.

“The Pain Trilogy” is a three-part tale focusing on the stages of grief and vulnerability – exemplifying it through a love story. The band comments on the tracks as follows:

“The first song, ‘Dancing like Flames‘, begins with the main character becoming enamored by the person within his dreams. He decides to turn to this reality as a sense of purpose despite knowing that the closer he gets to his goal, the further it seems to drift away. 

This leads to the second song, ‘After All I’ve Done, I’ll Disappear‘. This is the part where the person vanishes, and the main character struggles to accept the pain. He as well wishes to disappear and seeks to throw it all away.
Finally, the trilogy ends with the last song, ‘In a Sea of Fire‘, which focuses with not just acceptance but also anger. Anger at not just himself, but the world around him. The song ends with the main character choosing to wake up by igniting the world. As the fires grow, he is absolved in a sea of fire so that he too may finally disappear.”

You can watch the new video below:

You can stream or purchase the new album here, in various formats.

For Lorna Shore, 2020 was nothing short of a reckoning – in a career built on challenges, changes and a single-minded vision. For the New Jersey quintet, 2020 signaled the pandemic and cancelled tours. The following year presented the band with a staggering creative challenge in the form of the song, “To the Hellfire” (currently at 11M+ views on YouTube, 23M+ streams on Spotify), from their hugely well-regarded EP “…And I Return to Nothingness”. Yet, through it all, they upped their sonic ante with new album, “Pain Remains”, that not only aligns with everything Lorna Shore has hinted at, but it also exceeds that – brutally and magnificently.

In guitarist Adam De Micco’s words:

“I’m a firm believer in the butterfly effect. While you can try and boil it down to one song or one moment in a song, that’s just one moment in a career with a lot leading up to that.”

Drummer Austin Archey adds:

“‘Hellfire’ was a big, viral moment for the band, but we are way more than just a viral 30-second breakdown band.” 

Clocking in at just over an hour, Pain Remains is as far-reaching in scope as any modern extreme metal album. It thinks big, pushing beyond preconception or musical boundaries.

“Pain Remains” track-listing
1. Welcome Back, O’ Sleeping Dreamer
2. Into the Earth
3. Sun//Eater 
4. Cursed to Die
5. Soulless Existence
6. Apotheosis
7. Wrath
8. Pain Remains I: Dancing Like Flames
9. Pain Remains II: After All I’ve Done, I’ll Disappear
10. Pain Remains III: In a Sea of Fire