Kamelot drops new single “One More Flag In The Ground” and unveils details from the upcoming album

Author Silvia Tortiglione - 13.1.2023

Time is running out. Kamelot‘s next album is around the corner, and mystery has never sounded so powerful! With the new single just released, “One More Flag In The Ground”, the band confirms itself as an innovative pillar of the genre, between fantasy inflections and a new style that winks at the world of videogames.

Vocalist Tommy Karevik declares on the new song:

“The main focus on this video and song was to have a metaphor for the struggles of fighting disease or illness, whether it being physical or mental. Each step of healing and recovery is another Flag in the Ground. With every little step, one more victory won…

– Tommy Karevik

Then, Kamelot shares details about “The Awakening”, the opus to be out on 23 March 2023, via Napalm Records. Produced by Sascha Paeth and mixed by Jacob Hansen, “The Awakening” will be made of thirteen tracks:

01. Overture (Intro) – 01:18  
02. The Great Divide – 04:08  
03. Eventide – 04:15  
04. One More Flag in the Ground – 04:08  
05. Opus of the Night (Ghost Requiem) – 05:48  
06. Midsummer’s Eve – 04:28  
07. Bloodmoon – 04:51  
08. Nightsky – 03:24  
09. The Looking Glass – 04:51  
10. New Babylon – 04:19  
11. Willow – 03:51  
12. My Pantheon (Forevermore) – 04:34  
13. Ephemera (Outro) – 02:56  

Guitarist Thomas Youngblood explains:

With The Awakening, we have one of our most diverse albums in years. We’ve fused elements from progressive, power and gothic metal to symphonic and melodic metal on this one. Working with incredible guest artists from around the music industry and having producer Sascha Paeth and Jacob Hansen mixing gave us another step up on overall sound. This album offers everything to Kamelot fans and also reaches beyond borders to new metal and hard rock legions.– Thomas Youngblood

And finally, here we go with the artwork!