Finnish atmospheric progressive metal band Alase released a new single “Clear Sky Is Not a Curse” from their upcoming second studio album!

Author Arto Mäenpää - 18.1.2023

Finnish atmospheric progressive metal band Alase is set to release their second studio album “A Matter of Time” on April 14th 2023 via Finnish Inverse Records. A new single & music video “Clear Sky Is Not a Curse” is released today and you can check it out below. Guitarist Janne Lunnas comments:

“We chose Clear Sky Is Not a Curse as the first single taken from the album as the song is pretty straight-forward but still progressive. This song was born as our other guitarist Mikko sent me the intro’s clean guitar tracks and I started to build other elements on top of them. The song is filled with hooks and it represents many musical elements of the album. Once again our lyricist Ninni Swan managed to capture fragile emotions that many people can relate to. Vocalist Juha Tretjakov sang almost every song on this album and he was a perfect fit as the vocalist for Clear Sky Is Not a Curse as well.

If I would need to compare the song to other bands, I think this song is pretty much in the same ballpark style-wise with Katatonia and VOLA as they combine beautiful elements to crushing heavy drumming and riffs in similar way.

Aarni Visuals filmed a music video to be accompanied with this song and I think they nailed it great how the atmosphere matches with the song.”

Track list:

  1. Understanding the Waves
  2. Clear Sky Is Not a Curse
  3. Fate’s Intervention
  4. Unburden
  5. Life Ahead
  6. The Source
  7. Out of Place
  8. Feeling Free
  9. Ajan kysymys

Guitars: Janne Lunnas
Guitars: Mikko Häkälä
Bass: Ari Miettinen
Drums: Ville Aatsinki
Lyrics: Ninni Swan