Deicide share new single “Sever The Tongue”, reveal “Banished By Sin” album details

Author Flavia Andrade - 14.2.2024

Death metallers Deicide have unleashed their provocative new single “Sever The Tongue” into the world today, Ash Wednesday, adding a layer of blasphemy to this day’s religious observances, challenging religious conventions.

Frontman Glen Benton says, provokingly:

A life undone on the crucifix hung…sever the tongue…

Sever The Tongue” is crafted at Smoke & Mirrors, showcasing Deicide‘s never ending pursuit of extreme musical devastation. The single counts with the engineering prowess of Jeramie Kling and the adept musicianship of Taylor Nordberg, as well as the masterful mixing and mastering of Josh Wilbur.

The highly anticipated album “Banished By Sin”, to be released on April 26, can now be pre-ordered here.

In addition to the release of the song “Sever The Tongue“, Deicide has collaborated with David Brodsky from My Good Eye: Music Visuals for a music video that complements the track’s blasphemous undertones, along with producer Allison Woest.

Benton speaks of the album:

I’ve been sitting in a dark corner for several years now. A few things have come into my life that have shaken and changed me. I got inspired writing this new record — it was like flipping a switch. I no longer have the aggravation of other people’s hangups interfering with what I have and want to do. I stopped chasing everybody else’s happiness a long time ago. The guy who started this shit is back! And it’s good to be back!

Musically, we’re back to the 1990s style. There’s modern stuff in there, too. It’s Deicide the way it was meant to be. My hooky songs are there, Steve’s prog-styled songs are there, and we got Kevin’s theme-styled songs. Having Taylor in the band has impacted Deicide greatly. He’s a fantastic songwriter and player. He can do anything. The four of us contributed three songs each. I’m back with the high screaming and layering. I’m just absolutely going off on this one. I’ve been told it’s one of my best vocal performances. I’m like Rumpelstiltskin — here to spin your hay into gold. Everybody’s going to be pleasantly surprised.

“Banished By Sin” track listing:

01. From Unknown Heights You Shall Fall
02. Doomed To Die
03. Sever The Tongue
04. Faithless
05. Bury The Cross…With Your Christ
06. Woke From God
07. Ritual Defied
08. Failures Of Your Dying Lord
09. Banished By Sin
10. Trinity Of None
11. I Am I…A Curse Of Death
12. The Light Defeated

You can watch the new music video below: