Decrowned publish the next single “Stonewing” off new album “Persona Non Grata”

Author Benedetta Baldin - 25.1.2024

Melancholic Finnish metallers Decrowned will unveil their first full-length “Persona Non Grata” this coming February 2024 from Rockshots Records. Just before the new year, they revealed their first single “Mouth Leaks Black” and today they’re ready to share their second audio preview to the album with Stonewing. Vocalist and bassist Miikka Hulmi explains:

“I was always very keen on the first riff and the whole song came up very fast around it. The song starts heavily and the chorus is very melodic. The track tells a story about a fallen angel who walks on this Earth. The world’s sorrow turns her to stone. Even though the story is dark, it has positive and uplifting features.”

Listen to Stonewing at the following links:



“Persona Non Grata” follows Decrowned‘s two EPs “Hansel’s Nightmare” (2019) and debut “Weight of The Dark Sky” (2018), which garnered the “Newcomer of the Month” award from Finnish metal magazine Inferno.

Since their inception in 2017, Decrowned has been constantly evolving, progressing musically and its production both live and studio, especially with the aid of Tero “TeeCee” Kinnunen who has done a remarkable job of mixing the record. On “Persona Non Grata” fans will find a great number of variations, each song has its own identity but the themes of each are very relevant to one another.

We hope the listeners will find their own personal ways to relate to the songs and also find the album interesting enough to keep finding new things and themes in it.” adds the band.

Every member brought something to the table for the album, but guitarists Jaakko Kauppinen (guitars) and Simo Puustinen composed most of the songs. Musically, the band takes a turn into heavier waters from its predecessors, still keeping in mind the essence of Decrowned. Lyrically “Persona Non Grata” is a very dark album, reflecting things that pass through the generations, consuming us from inside. It is a description of a haunted future and the past that took wrong turns on personal and universal levels. This undefined black matter that flows ignoring time and reason is the unwanted entity… Persona non grata.

Recommended for fans of Amorphis, Insomnium, In Flames, and Katatonia, “Persona Non Grata” is due out on February 23, 2024, from Rockshots Records and is available for pre-order at

First single – “Mouth Leaks Black” at the following links:

YouTube –

Digital –

Track Listing:

1. Folklore pt.1 (intro) – 0:48
2. Mouth Leaks Black – 4:20
3. Rainworld – 4:16
4. Stonewing – 3:56
5. Mindparasite – 4:44
6. Scarred – 5:02
7. Awaken – 3:30
8. Faceless – 3:50
9. The Bird and The Tree – 4:51
10. The Vigorian Man – 4:09
11. Persona Non Grata – 4:52
12. Folklore pt.2 (outro) – 0;42
Album Length: 45:05

Produced by Decrowned with help of Tero Kinnunen
Recorded at Crown Crusher studio/Joensuu
Kantele recordings at Guru studio/Joensuu
Engineered by Antti Venäläinen
Mixed by Tero “TeeCee” Kinnunen
Mastered by Mika Jussila at Finnvox
Artwork and layout by Jukka Turunen (
Band photography by Harri Säynevirta (
Keyboards and synths by Jukka Turunen
Kantele by Sari Puustinen and Saila Kinnunen
Guitar solo on “Mindparasite” by Euge Valovirta
Finnish vocals on “Mindparasite” by Tuomo HuurreDecrowned is:
Miikka Hulmi, Vocals and bass
Antti Venäläinen, Drums
Jaakko Kauppinen, Guitar
Simo Puustinen, Guitar