Photo Credit: Sam Jamsen

Cemetery Skyline: Visualizer video for “The Coldest Heart” released

Author Stefanie Nysand - 27.6.2024

The new supergroup Cemetery Skyline, featuring band members from Dark Tranquillity, Amorphis and Dimmu Borgir, amongst others, has released a new single, entitled “The Coldest Heart“, along with a visualizer video. You can check out the video below:

The visualizer video was realised by Metastazis, a visual art and graphic design studio based in France’s capital Paris.

Cemetery Skyline vocalist Mikael Stanne comments on the new release as follows:

“This song deals with the endless need for validation and misguided desperation. It is based on some dramatic experiences I had in recent times that ended with incarceration. It spells out its darkness in all its loveless splendour.” – Mikael Stanne

Cemetery Skyline guitarist Markus Vanhala adds:

“‘The Coldest Heart’ is one of the very first songs written for CEMETERY SKYLINE and it is an obvious tribute to ‘The Green Man’, but in a very gentleman way. It is a heavy hitter for a gloomy summer hit in 2024.” – Markus Vanhala

After “Violent Storm” and “In Darkness“, “The Coldest Heart” is the third single release by Cemetery Skyline. Just yesterday, the band confirmed the release of an album:

“Of course we have a full album waiting, that will come your way rather sooner than later. The pre-orders will start next month and we’ll make sure you won’t miss it, so all old school vinyl lovers (like us!) will be able to get a physical copy, too.” – Cemetery Skyline

Already a month ago, the quintet confirmed that the full album master was already finished by Tony Lindgren of the Sweden-based “Fascination Street Studios”.

The new supergroup Cemetery Skyline consists of vocalist Mikael Stanne (Dark Tranquillity, The Halo Effect, Grand Cadaver, formerly also HammerFall and In Flames), guitarist Markus Vanhala (Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum, I am the Night horde), keyboardist Santeri Kallio (Amorphis), bassist Victor Brandt (Dimmu Borgir, WITCHERY, formerly also Entombed and Satyricon) and drummer Vesa Ranta (The Abbey, formerly also Sentenced and The Man-Eating Tree). The band, which describes its musical style as “Nordic Gothic”, will play its very first live show on 18 July 2024 at the Finnish John Smith Rock Festival. Tickets and further information about said festival can be found here.