Witherfall announce new single “When It All Falls Away”

Author Benedetta Baldin - 2.4.2024

Los Angeles-based dark melodic metal outfit Witherfall are proud to present their new single“When It All Falls Away”, taken from the upcoming album “Sounds Of The Forgotten” (to be released May 31st).

The track is accompanied by an emotional music video, unfolding a tragic love story: 

“When It All Falls Away is reflective of our deep love of 70s Rock bands”, Witherfall comment. “Back when the lines between Rock/Prog/R&B were a bit blurry. The song is a dreamy meditation on the subject of loss. Whether it be relationships or life itself the song is about the emptiness that settles in when things are at an end. The title is also a nod to the band name “WITHERFALL” which is meant to be quite literal. The song features many vintage elements such as a 12 string acoustic, Hammond Organ, Roland Chorus amps, Leslie Speakers and other various toys we had at our disposal while recording at Big Blue North.”

Previously Witherfall have already released the singles “Insidious”“Ceremony Of Fire”, “Where Do I Begin” and “What Have You Done?”.

All singles will be included on Witherfall‘s upcoming fourth studio album “Sounds Of The Forgotten”, which will arrive on May 31st, 2024 via the band’s own label DeathWave Records.

The first few select concerts in support of the record have just been announced:
07.09.2024 – (MX) Léon De Los Aldama, Candelabrum Metal Fest
11.09.2024 – (ES) Madrid, Sala Silikona (first time live in Spain!)
12.09.2024 – (ES) Pontevedra, Sala Rebullón
13.09.2024 – (DE) Püchersreuth, Storm Crusher Festival

get your tickets here: https://witherfall.com/tours-and-events

1. They Will Let You Down 
2. Where Do I Begin 
3. A Lonely Path 
4. Insidious 
5. Ceremony Of Fire 
6. Sounds Of The Forgotten 
7. Aftermath 
8. When It All Falls Away 
9. Opulent 
10. What Have You Done 

“We found ourselves writing really depressing, melancholy songs about how just disappointed we were with all the work we put into Curse of Autumn and then going through the pandemic,” says frontman/songwriter Joseph Michael about the record. “Before that, we thought nothing was going to stop us. Then, something did. We felt a bit defeated. So, that’s how Sounds Of The Forgotten started. But we got out of that quickly. The songs we ended up writing were empowering. We have songs with negative emotions, but the overarching theme is moving forward and perseverance. That’s the epitome of Sounds Of The Forgotten.”

Many factors influenced and inspired Witherfall’s approach to “Sounds Of The Forgotten”. The album color theme conveys another side to Witherfall’s fourth-album distress. Often associated with ambition, power, and regality, the Blake Armstrong (In Flames, Megadeth, Kataklysm, Harry Potter, Wednesday) cover art provides a view into and a visual counter to the music on “Sounds Of The Forgotten”.

Pre-order the album on Vinyl/CD and/or pre-save it digitally here:
Official Bandshop: https://www.witherfall.com/soundspresale
CDs/Vinyl EU: https://napalmrecords.com/english/catalogsearch/result/?q=witherfall
Stream here: http://www.linktree.com/witherfall

Witherfall was formed in Los Angeles in 2013. Joseph Michael (also of Sanctuary fame) and Jake Dreyer (ex-Iced Earth/Demons & Wizards) built their new band around drummer Adam Sagan (RIP) and accomplished bassist Anthony Crawford (Allan Holdsworth, CHON). Since then, the group have released three highly regarded albums: “Nocturnes and Requiems” (2017), “A Prelude to Sorrow “(2018), and “Curse of Autumn” (2021) and an ep “Vintage” (2019). Not one to cut corners, Witherfall enlisted famed drummer Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson) on “Curse of Autumn”, ensuring the foundations of singles “As I Lie Awake,” “The Other Side of Fear,” and “The River” were second to none. On the upcoming album, Minnemann returns to the fold with an album-only appearance, while drummer Chris Tsaganeas (Wax Owls) and multi-instrumentalist Gerry Hirschfeld (Willie Nelson) Witherfall’s newest permanent members.

Every Witherfall album is a defining moment. From the moment “Nocturnes and Requiems” thundered across metaldom to the group’s wine endeavors (Tempest Red Blend) with Charlie & Echo Winery, their video collaboration with Cig Neutron (Devil’s Workshop) on “The Other Side of Fear,” a beer partnership with Adroit Theory Brewing Company (Shadows Black IPA), and custom Funko Pop set, Michael and Dreyer have made Witherfall their mission. The journey to this point hasn’t been without toil and upheaval. Determination, however, is the key.

Witherfall are guitarist/songwriter Jake Dreyer, vocalist/songwriter Joseph Michael, bassist Anthony Crawford, drummer Marco Minnemann (recording only), drummer/percussionist Chris Tsaganeas, and keyboardist Gerry Hirschfeld.

DeathWave Records was created by Witherfall headmen Joseph Michael and Jake Dreyer as a vehicle for their music and other projects. Look for more exciting and trailblazing releases from DeathWave Records in the future.