Therapy? announces new album “Hard Cold Fire”, drops “Joy” video

Author Hernan Osuna - 10.3.2023

Northern Irish rock outfit, Therapy? announce their colossal new studio album “Hard Cold Fire”, a “spiralling, hypnotic melange of grunge-rock and towering melody” that sees the trio steadfast and reinvigorated. “Hard Cold Fire” is set for release on May 5th, 2023 via Marshall Records.

Accompanying the announcement, the band also shares their first offering in the form the riotous new single “Joy” (you can watch the video below). Fans can pre-order limited edition bundles of “Hard Cold Fire” and pre-save here.

As Therapy?’s fourth decade finally gets underway in earnest, sixteenth album “Hard Cold Fire”, written and pre-produced during an unprecedented time for music, is hefty, compact, and accessible, a distillation of everything that has made them what they are – hewn from County Antrim basalt, still possessed of their stoicism, but casting a renewed focus on catharsis and healing.

One thing we did decide when we were eventually able to rehearse, was that we didn’t want to make a lockdown record,” says vocalist and guitarist Andy Cairns,because people have been through enough.

When we began to rehearse the songs, we realised there was an empathetic quality to them. We wanted to make something that was a bit more relatable, and less standoffish and claustrophobic – which we have a history of, and it stands in places – but we wanted to make something more approachable and open.

We wanted this album to be one that felt good to play live, almost a release after this period of stasis, but then also not dwelling on the whole situation – we’re moving forward, and we wanted that energy to be there,” adds bassist MichaelMcKeegan.

Working once more with renowned producer Chris Sheldon (Feeder, Biffy Clyro, Foo Fighters), a consistent good-luck charm for Therapy? dating back to 1994’s breakout album “Troublegum”, the band decamped to the newly opened Marshall Studios in Milton Keynes toward the end of 2021, working furiously to put the album down in its final form.

1. They Shoot the Terrible Master
2. Woe
3. Joy
4. Bewildered Herd
5. Two Wounded Animals
6. To Disappear
7. Mongrel
8. Poundland of Hope and Glory
9. Ugly
10. Days Kollaps