The Who announce UK orchestral tour

Author Hernan Osuna - 30.1.2023

Legendary rock icons The Who have announced a nine-date UK tour which will see the band performing with a full orchestra each night with shows from 6th to 23rd July in Hull, Edinburgh, London, Derby, Badminton, Durham, St Helens and Brighton. Joining them will be UB40 featuring Ali Campbell across all regional shows except for The O2 London and Edinburgh Castle dates.

Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey and co. will be performing tunes from throughout the band’s nearly 60-year career, including sections devoted to classic albums “Tommy” and “Quadrophenia” as well as other beloved Who tracks and songs from their 2019 “Who” album, their first studio release in 13 years.

The 2023 UK shows include Edinburgh Castle, the band’s first gig in the Scottish capital in over 40 years as well as shows in Derby, their first since 1966, The O2 London, Durham and Brighton Cricket grounds. The shows follow last year’s highly acclaimed The Who Hits Back! tour of the US, where the band shared with some of the finest orchestras in America.

The 2023 UK tour will feature The Who’s full live band which consists of guitarist/backup singer Simon Townshend, keyboardist Loren Gold, second keyboardist Emily Marshall, bassist Jon Button, drummer Zak Starkey and backing vocals by Billy Nicholls, along with orchestra conductor Keith Levenson, lead violinist Katie Jacoby and lead cellist Audrey Snyder.

Before touring the UK, The Who will release the live album “The Who With Orchestra Live At Wembley” on Friday, March 31, 2023.

Immortalising their concert at London’s Wembley Stadium in July 2019, the LP will be released as a limited edition yellow, orange & red 3LP set, triple black vinyl, 2CD / Blu-Ray set which features the audio remixed in Dolby Atmos and 1CD edition.

The Who tour dates – July 2023
6 – Hull, Sewell Group Craven Park
8 – Edinburgh, Edinburgh Castle
9 – Edinburgh, Edinburgh Castle
12 – London, The O2
14 – Derby, Incora County Ground
16 – Bristol, Badminton Estate
19 – Durham, Seat Unique Riverside
21 – St Helens, Totally Wicked Stadium
23 – Brighton, 1st Central Cricket Ground