Soen announces new album “Memorial”, drops video for “Unbreakable”

Author Hernan Osuna - 30.5.2023

Swedish prog metallers Soen have announced the release of their new album “Memorial”, which will be coming out September 1st via Silver Lining Music. The band has also released the hard-hitting first single “Unbreakable“. Watch the video below.

The new single is a statement of intent of what’s to come from the forthcoming album and sees the band take a much heavier approach but still retain their melodic sensibilities.

Founding member and drummer Martin Lopez comments, “‘Unbreakable’ is a song about how you limit yourself as a human, by blindly believing in something.”

Vocalist and co-founding member Joel Ekelöf continues, “Politicians and the media paint everything as black or white, entitling you to try to destroy your opponent instead of trying to find common ground. It’s key to be humble and open to different viewpoints to keep growing, ‘Unbreakable’ feels like a marriage between classic-metal and Soen.”

The new album has a potent drive and sees the band channel the ills of current society with a crisp, riff-heavy ferocity but at the same time still showcasing Soen’s unique blend of progression, aggression, and beauty.

“Memorial” is drenched in melody with face-crushing guitars and rhythms from start to finish. Album opener “Sincere” starts off with relentless propulsion, whilst the sheer power of the title track is enriched with a solid groove, underlying the weighty tones and evocative vocals of Joel Ekelöf.

Finishing with the beautiful, tragic, Pink Floyd-esque ballad “Vitals“, “Memorial” is arguably the band finding their best stride yet. Soen has been building up to this moment for years and now they’re here with their new LP, which is an inspiring modern hard rock classic.

The band is completed by Lars Enok Åhlund (Keyboards and Guitar), Oleksii ‘Zlatoyar’ Kobel (Bass) and Cody Ford (Lead Guitar) and is set to play at this year’s Download Festival (GB) on Sunday 11th June, before embarking on the Memorial 2023 tour in Europe this September, with the newly added show at the Locomotiv in Bologna (IT).


20.9 Odense (DK) – Posten

21.9 Copenhagen (DK) – Amager Bio

22.9 Berlin (DE) – Kesselhaus

23.9 Leipzig (DE) – Täubchemthal

26.9 Prague (CZ) – Palak Akropolis

27.9 Zurich (CH) – Komplex 457

28.9 Munich (DE) – Backstage Werk

29.9 Vienna (AT) – Simm City

30.9 Bologna (IT) – Locomotiv

3.10 Bilbao (ES) – Kafe Antzokia

4.10 Porto (PT) – Hard Club

5.10 Lisbon (PT) – Lisboa Ao Vivo

6.10 Madrid (ES) – La Paqui

7.10 Sevilla (ES) – Custom

8.10 Murcia (ES) – Garaje

10.10 Barcelona (ES) – Apolo

11.10 Lyon (FR) – Ninkasi Kao

12.10 Sint Niklaas (BE) – De Casino

14.10 Amsterdam (NL) – Melkweg 

15.10 Paris (FR) – Elysee Montmartre

17.10 Frankfurt (DE) – Batschkapp

18.10 Strasbourg (FR) – La Laiterie

20.10 Cologne (DE) – Essigfabrik

22.10 Hamburg (DE) – Knust

Tickets for the shows are available here. More dates to be announced soon.

“Memorial” will be released on September 1st 2023, via Silver Lining Music. Available as a Deluxe CD, 12” Vinyl Album in Black and colour variants, digital formats and special D2C products and bundles. For pre-orders, go to this location

Soen: Memorial tracklisting

05-Hollowed (feat. Elisa)
10- Vitals