Sodom releases lyric video for new version of “Bombenhagel”

Author Arto Mäenpää - 23.8.2021

German thrash metal veterans Sodom have just released a new EP, “Bombenhagel”, via Steamhammer/SPV. The EP includes one re-recorded classic and two brand new songs.

“I wanted a recording of our old classic by the new lineup. Of course that was really special with a drummer such as Toni and two stringsmen. This new arrangement of our anthem definitely holds a few surprises in store.”

– Sodom bassist/vocalist Thomas “Angelripper” Such

The new version of “Bombenhagel” also includes a guitar solo courtesy of Harris Johns, who, as a producer, worked on the “Persecution Mania” (1987) rendition of “Bombenhagel”.

“Harris practically insisted on contributing a special kind of solo, in line with his outstanding skill. Naturally, that’s been a real pleasure for us because we’re all aware of what he’s done for us. Without Harris, Sodom wouldn’t be where we are today.”

– Thomas “Angelripper” Such

The official lyric video for the new version of “Bombenhagel” can be seen below:

Track listing for “Bombenhagel” EP:

  1. Bombenhagel (6:06)
  2. Coup De Grace (3:06)
  3. Pestiferous Posse (5:05)