Octoploid unveil music video for first digital single, ‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]’ and launch debut album pre-orders

Author Benedetta Baldin - 18.4.2024

Evolving over a couple of years, Octoploid, the new musical endeavour of bassist Olli-Pekka “Oppu” Laine (Amorphis, Barren Earth, Mannhai), have shared the first digital single from “Beyond The Aeons,” their debut album which is set to hit the shelves on July 5, 2024 through Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM). ‘Human Amoral’ perfectly mirrors many of the influences that have found their way onto the record and features Oppu’s Amorphis band mate Tomi Joutsen, splendidly contrasting but at the same time fitting the outstanding melancholic lead melodies with his remarkable vocal style. Its creeping psychedelic touch especially comes alive in Octoploid’s first music video which is now available on YouTube.

View ‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]’:

Stream/purchase the track:

“Combining elements from folk, prog and death metal, ‘Human Amoral’ is an epitome of OCTOPLOID’s sound and my musical influences,” adds Oppu.

“Beyond The Aeons” was crafted at E-Studio (Sipoo, Finland) where Petri Majuri (Hanoi Rocks, Michael Monroe etc.) took care of mixing the eight tracks and David Castillo (Katatonia, Leprous, Opeth etc.) mastered the album. Orion Landau (Carcass, Yob, Russian Circles etc.) completed the overall magnificent package with dreamy artwork.

Pre-order the album in the physical format of your choice (CD-digi, eco-friendly / recycled “dusk of vex” marbled vinyl), pre-save it on your favourite DSP or pre-order it digitally to receive ‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]’ instantly now, here: https://octoploid.rpm.link/beyondtheaeonsPR

“Beyond The Aeons” – Track Listing:

01. The Dawns In Nothingness [feat. Mikko Kotamäki] *
02. Coast Of The Drowned Sailors [feat. Tomi Koivusaari & Janitor Muurinen] *
03. Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen] *
04. Shattered Wings [feat. Petri Eskelinen] #/%
05. Beyond The Aeons #/%
06. The Hallowed Flame [feat. Mikko Kotamäki] *
07. Concealed Serenity [feat. Mikko Kotamäki] %
08. A Dusk Of Vex [feat. Jón Aldará | physical: long version; digital: edit] ^/%
Bonus Track (physical only):
09. Monotony [feat. Petri Eskelinen] %

* Kim Rantala (keyboards)
# Samu Leminen (additional lead guitars)
^ Ile Laaksomaa (additional lead guitar)
% Kasper Mårtenson (keyboards)

Don’t forget to subscribe to Reigning Phoenix Music on YouTube to stay updated & to listen to ‘Human Amoral [feat. Tomi Joutsen]’ as well as other new tracks in the “RPM New Releases” playlist on Spotify: https://rpm.link/spotifynewreleasesPR

— — — — —

About Octoploid

Octoploid is the solo band of Olli-Pekka Laine (bass, keyboards, backing vocals; Amorphis, Barren Earth, Mannhai), and was formed in 2022 what has led to “Beyond The Aeons,” the act’s debut album which is due to be released on July 5, 2024 via Reigning Phoenix Music (RPM). Combining elements from 90s death/black metal, 70s prog rock and 90s psychedelic rock, their music has its own place on the map. In one phrase, Octoploid’s sound has been described as “classic death prog.”

Built around Laine, the core band includes four additional musicians: Well-seasoned and diverse drummer Mikko Pietinen brings experience from stoner rock (Mannhai) to Finnish mainstream pop rock (Kasmir etc.), while lead/rhythm guitarist Peter Salonen (The Kinky Thing; a band performing Finnish psych rock legends Kingston Wall covers) is a quite new face in the scene. The five-piece is completed by keyboardist Kim Rantala (Giant Robot, Ex-Amorphis) and vocalist Mikko Kotamäki (Swallow The Sun etc.; live).

Octoploid are:
Mikko Kotamäki | vocals (live)
Peter Salonen | guitars
Kim Rantala | keyboards
Olli-Pekka Laine | bass, keyboards, backing vocals
Mikko Pietinen | drums, percussion