Morbikon: Blackened death metal trio featuring members of Municipal Waste and Finntroll to release debut album in October: New song “Cursed To March On Shattered Limbs” available

Author Arto Mäenpää - 14.9.2022

Morbikon, the new blackened death metal project featuring guitarist/bassist Phil “Land Phil” Hall (Municipal Waste, Cannabis Corpse, Iron Reagan), drummer Dave Witte (Municipal Waste, Discordance Axis), and vocalist Mathias “Vreth” Lillmåns (Finntroll, …And Oceans), will release their “Ov Mournful Twilight” debut full-length on October 28th via Tankcrimes, today unveiling the record’s artwork, track listing, and preorders.

The creative effort of Land Phil exploring the dark corners of extreme music, Morbikon is guided by the second wave of Scandinavia’s black metal and melodic death metal scenes of the ‘90s.

Morbikon to me is an opportunity to explore new atmospheres and new realms of extreme metal,” notes Hall. “I wanted to fill it with memorable hooks and punishing moments. I am very happy with the result of these songs and hope everyone notices the amount of detail that has been added to every corner of the music. I also have to give Dave Witte a lot of credit for laying down amazing drum tracks that added so much to these songs.”

In advance of the record’s release, today the band releases “Cursed To March On Shattered Limbs” and you can listen to the song below:

Comments Hall:

“This is a special track to me. It’s probably the first six-plus minute track I have ever written. I put a lot of effort in making it as dynamic and memorable as possible. I noticed early how strong it was turning out and it is definitely a standout track on the album. Enjoy!”

You can listen to the previously released song “Universal Funeral” below:


Consumed By Entropy
Universal Funeral
Cursed To March On Shattered Limbs
Ov Mournful Twilight
In Ritual Isolation
Borne Of Phantom Vessel
Infinite Pathways to the Earthen Grave