Memoriam: a new album to be released in February 2023

Author Silvia Tortiglione - 24.11.2022

British death metallers Memoriam announce the arrival of a brand new album, to be released on 3rd February 2023 via Reaper Entertainment. The opus will be named “Rise To Power” and will consist of eight biting tracks. As the band stated on Reaper Entertainment official social media, creativity seems to be the only and true god in music:

For this album we again work with the creative genius that is Mr Dan Seagrave. Dan has created the previous 4 album covers for us, so to keep the theme and continuity there would be no other choice. We love the work he creates and to be part of the creative process whilst the artwork is developing is a great experience. To see our basic ideas come to life through his mind and hands is amazing and he always delivers. This time around the cover has a majestic purple colour theme and features the “King” (the central character throughout all of the artwork that Dan has created for us) at his crowning ceremony where he “rises to power”.

– Memoriam

That’s not all. Political and social issues had an important role in the process:

The lyrical content of the new album carries on from those that precede it, maintaining the theme of grief, loss and despair along with social commentary on recent events such as the war in Ukraine and past events such as the holocaust. The ever present subject of war is prevalent throughout the album as it is on all of the others. We consider “Rise To Power” our strongest album to date, as it includes a diverse range of songs building on what we have achieved with Memoriam over the past 7 years. Rise To Power is a true celebration of life through death metal.

– Memoriam

Here’s the complete tracklist and the official announcement:

1 – Never Forget Never Again (6 Million Dead)
2 – Total War
3 – I Am the Enemy
4 – The Conflict is Within
5 – Annihilation’s Dawn
6 – All is Lost
7 – Rise to Power
8 – This Pain