Members Of Children Of Bodom, Wintersun and Finntroll unite in Crownshift

Author Hernan Osuna - 6.12.2023

Crownshift, a new Finnish metal band featuring vocalist Tommy Tuovinen (MyGrain), guitarist and vocalist Daniel Freyberg (ex-Children Of Bodom, ex-Bodom After Midnight), bassist Jukka Koskinen (Nightwish, Wintersun), and drummer Heikki Saari (Finntroll), has signed a record deal with Nuclear Blast Records.

Crownshift is set to release their debut single on January 17, as well as a debut album in 2024.

The band stated: “We’re super happy to start this new chapter in our career with Nuclear Blast. Their history, reputation and devotion as a metal label is incomparable and it is a privilege to embark on this exciting journey together.”

Nuclear Blast Records commented: “It’s a pleasure to start working with this highly talented group of musicians. We wouldn’t call it an all-star band but it’s a 5-star result of their collective experience from various bands. And sometimes it takes a while until the right musicians are coming together and find the perfect chemistry. Jukka, Heikki and Daniel already played together in the last Norther line-up until 2012. Since then, they went different ways but always crossed each other’s paths, and finally came back together as Crownshift with the addition of the amazing vocal talent of Tommy Tuovinen from Mygrain. Their music is of course rooted in the very unique style of Finnish melodic death metal, but Crownshift enrich it with their admiration for Devin Townsend, both his raging Strapping Young Lad era, as well as the epic prog side, and combine it with a timeless yet modern heaviness similar to the most impressive aspects of metalcore and bands such as Killswitch Engage. Sounds ambitious? Yes, but that’s what it’s all about: being ambitious. Welcome Crownshift!