Kuolemanlaakso release companion EP to latest album – new single out now

Author Arto Mäenpää - 29.9.2022

Death doom metal group Kuolemanlaakso‘s most recent album “Kuusumu”, released to much critical acclaim in March 2022, will be followed up by a limited three song EP “Kuolleiden laulu” in December. Both the album and the EP were recorded in the same studio session in 2021, both share lyrical themes and cover art based on art by Evelyn De Morgan (1855-1919). Guitarist-songwriter Laakso comments:

“We knew already when entering the studio that we’re going to record more than an album, as we had plenty of material to work on. When all ten songs were done, it felt natural to compile the album of the heavier epic songs and put the more unusual and catchy tracks on the EP. These three songs have contagious hooks and clean vocals.”

The title track on the EP is the band’s most radio friendly track to date with a smoother production and an infectious chorus plus guest female vocals by Lotta Ruutiainen, who also performed on the album. The slow and menacing second track “Juuret jalkojeni alla” is a more complex composition, whereas the EP closing number “Rautasiivet” pays a visit to the same melancholic but catchy territory that Kent and Katatonia also inhabit. Laakso comments:

“The three songs on Kuolleiden laulu differ from one another considerably, and they present new sides to the band. Lyrically all three songs are fictional stories based on the 10-year volcanic winter that begun in 535 and has been described by historical scholars as ‘the worst time to be alive.'”

Aleksi Munter (ex-Swallow The Sun and Insomnium) plays keyboards on the EP, and it was produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by V.Santura (Triptykon), the man responsible for producing everything Kuolemanlaakso has released thus far.

The EP will be made available on limited vinyl and CD, both restricted to 500 copies only. The titular track on the EP is available now on the Svart Records Youtube channel, with all DSPs following on Friday 30th of September.

You can listen to the first single from the EP “Kuolleiden laulu” below:

Kuolemanlaakso 2022:
Kotamäki – vocals
Laakso – guitar, backing vocals
Kouta – guitar
Usva – bass
Tiera – drums

Uljas uusi maailma (2012)
Musta aurinko nousee (EP, 2013)
Tulijoutsen (2014)
Kuusumu (2022)