Kat Von D to Chaoszine: “Metal music doesn’t really get the credit it deserves in the music world”

Author Arto Mäenpää - 27.8.2021

Artist Kat Von D will be releasing her solo album “Love Made Me Do It” today on Sumerian Records. The album sits at the core of Kat’s universe, proving that music is her first and strongest passion. Having been a classically trained pianist since her youth with a deep appreciation for music of all genres, Kat poured her soul into this long-awaited full-length debut album. The project features collaborators including Dave Grohl, Linda Perry, Dave Sitek (TV On The Radio), Peter Murphy (Bauhaus), Danny Lohner (Nine Inch Nails), Ladyhawke and Charo.

Long before the history-making tattoos, ubiquitous television shows, best-selling books, and influential beauty empire, Kat Von D sat down at a piano for nearly two hours a day and played. In essence, music became her first creative language and most trusted outlet. Classical training and a deep appreciation for music of all genres essentially underscored her life. She studied voice under Ken Tamplin six days per week, strengthening her vocals. In 2012, she began writing with GRAMMY® Award-nominated legend Linda Perry. Following this experience, Kat continued to write on her own, sitting at the piano and summoning songs from raw emotion. During 2014, she retreated to London to record the original mix of what would become her full-length debut album “Love Made Me Do It” (KVD/Kartel Music Group) before cementing it with her band—Gregg Foreman AKA Mr. Pharmacist (synth 1), Sammi Doll (synth 2), Dave Parley (drums), and Brynn Route (contortionist). They moved into a bungalow cottage on her property, lived together, and finished the record. Capping off the process, Dan Haigh of Gunship handled mixing. A pastiche of shapeshifting analog synths, post-punk dreamscapes, gothic hues, and shy pop magnetism, these eleven songs echo the eternal will of the perennially brokenhearted to love until death. It’s highlighted by standouts such as the first single “Exorcism“, “Protected” featuring Peter Murphy of Bauhaus and produced and co-written with Danny Lohner (Nine Inch Nails, A Perfect Circle), and “The Calling” capped off by never-before-heard recordings from original scream queen Vampira.

Chaoszine had the possibility to had a chat with Kat Von D about her brand new solo album and also discuss a bit about Kat’s musical roots and the way her music taste has evolved and progressed through the years. You can check out the full interview below:

If you like the content we do on Chaoszine subscribe also on our YouTube channel. You can do it here. For behind the scenes video footage and pictures from interviews check out our Instagram page here. You can start following our Twitter page here.

Tracklist for ‘Love Made Me Do It’:

  1. Intro
  2. Vanish
  3. Enough
  4. Exorcism
  5. Protected (Feat. Peter Murphy)
  6. Fear You
  7. I Am Nothing
  8. Lost At Sea
  9. Interlude
  10. Pretending
  11. Easier Sung Than Said
  12. The Calling (Feat. Robert Harvey and Vampira)