Hanoi Rocks songwriter/guitarist Andy McCoy announces new solo album, shares first single

Author Flavia Andrade - 23.7.2022

Hanoi Rocks guitarist Andy McCoy will release his own full-length album of highly addictive covers entitled “Jukebox Junkie”, on August 5, via Cleopatra Records. McCoy has also dropped the first single and music video off the album, “Take Me I’m Yours

Just as Hanoi Rocks were always keen to include surprising cover versions among their killer original songs, Andy McCoy taps into the rich musical history that inspired him.

The album features an eclectic mix of songs showcasing not only McCoy’s love of numerous styles and genres but also his immense gift for synthesizing such different artists into a cohesive song sequence. On “Jukebox Junkie”, reggae legend Toots Hibbert’s “54-46 That’s My Number” grooves next to “Take Me I’m Yours” by ‘80s hitmakers Squeeze while Iggy & Bowie’s “China Girl” and rockabilly queen Wanda Jackson’s fantastic “Funnel Of Love” highlight the album’s second half.

McCoy himself shares:

“These are songs that everyone ought to know. I chose them from a list of 60 that I thought deserved to be bigger hits. I think this is the most colorful album I have ever done.”

You can watch the video for “Take Me I’m Yours” below:

You can stream the single here.

“Jukebox Junkie” tracklisting:

1. I’m Gonna Roll
2. 54-46 That’s My Number
3. Take Me I’m Yours
4. Miss Tennessee
5. Hot Night In Texas
6. I Can Feel The Fire
7. Shot Full Of Love
8. Solo In Soho
9. Back To The Wall
10. Motorbiking [CD/DIGITAL ONLY]
11. I Couldn’t Get It Right
12. China Girl
13. Funnel Of Love
14. Countdown

You can pre-order the CD/vinyl here, and pre-save the digital version here.