Grammys 2023: Ozzy Osbourne wins Best Rock Album and Best Metal Performance

Author Hernan Osuna - 6.2.2023

Heavy metal’s godfather Ozzy Osbourne has won two awards at the pre-show Grammy Premiere ceremony which took place at Los Angeles’ Microsoft Theater on Sunday. The 74-year-old musician won the 2023 Grammy Award for Best Rock Album with “Patient Number 9” and one trophy for Best Metal Performance category, for the song “Degradation Rules,” featuring his Black Sabbath bandmate Tony Iommi.

Ozzy was not present at the ceremony, but producer Andrew Watt and collaborator/Metallica bassist Robert Trujillo accepted the award on his behalf. Watt shared a message from Osbourne, indicating he wanted to say “I love you all and f*** off.”

Watt and Trujillo also commended the all-star collaborators that appear on “Patient Number 9”, Osbourne’s 13th solo studio album: among them the late Jeff Beck and Taylor Hawkins as well as Josh Homme, Chad Smith and Tony Iommi.

The Prince of Darkness announced his retirement from touring last week. He made the statement in a post on social media. “Never would I have imagined that my touring days would have ended this way,” he said. “My team is currently coming up with ideas for where I will be able to perform without having to travel from city to city and country to country.”

See below for the full list of Rock and Metal nominees.

Best Metal Performance:
Ghost – “Call Me Sunshine”
Megadeth – “We’ll Be Back”
Muse – “Kill or Be Killed”
Ozzy Osbourne – “Degradation Rules” Feat. Tony Iommi
Turnstile – “Blackout”

Best Rock Performance:
Bryan Adams – “So Happy It Hurts”
Beck – “Old Man”
The Black Keys – “Wild Child”
Brandi Carlile – “Broken Horses”
Idles – “Crawl!”
Ozzy Osbourne – “Patient Number 9”
Turnstile – “Holiday”

Best Rock Song:
Red Hot Chili Peppers – “Black Summer”
Turnstile – “Black Out”
Brandi Carlile – “Broken Horses”
The War on Drugs – “Harmonia’s Dream”
Ozzy Osbourne – “Patient Number 9”

Best Rock Album:
The Black Keys – Dropout Boogie
Elvis Costello and the Imposters – The Boy Named If
Idles – Crawler
Machine Gun Kelly – Mainstream Sellout
Ozzy Osbourne – Patient Number 9
Spoon – Lucifer on the Sofa