Gene Simmons plays first show with his solo band in six years: Setlist and videos available

Author Arto Mäenpää - 25.4.2024

Gene Simmons, the iconic bassist of Kiss, made a triumphant return to the spotlight with his debut solo performance following Kiss‘s farewell show in December. The Gene Simmons Band electrified the audience at the grand opening of the latest Rock & Brews venue in Ridgefield, WA, on April 23, treating fans to an unforgettable 18-song set.

This monumental event not only marked Simmons’s first live appearance since bidding farewell to Kiss but also signaled the revival of his solo band, which had been dormant since September 2018. Joined by seasoned musicians including guitarists Brent Woods (known for his work with Sebastian Bach and Vince Neil) and Jason Walker, alongside drummer Brian Tichy (renowned for his contributions to Whitesnake and Foreigner), Simmons unleashed a performance that captivated fans and critics alike.

The setlist was a harmonious blend of Kiss classics and electrifying covers, showcasing Simmons’s musical versatility and timeless appeal. Alongside iconic Kiss anthems, such as “Detroit Rock City” and “Rock and Roll All Nite,” the band delivered adrenaline-pumping renditions of Motorhead‘s “Ace of Spades” and Led Zeppelin‘s “Communication Breakdown,” igniting the crowd with sheer rock ‘n’ roll energy. The setlist for the show was as follows:

1. “Deuce”
2. “War Machine”
3. “Detroit Rock City”
4. “Weapons of Mass Destruction”
5. “Ace of Spades” (Motorhead cover)
6. “Communication Breakdown” (Led Zeppelin cover)
7. “I Love It Loud”
8. “Shout It Out Loud”
9. “Love Gun”
10. “Calling Dr. Love”
11. “Cold Gin”
12. “Parasite” (with Tommy Thayer)
13. “Lick It Up” (with Tommy Thayer)
14. “Are You Ready?”
15. “100,000 Years”
16. “Let Me Go, Rock ’n’ Roll”
17. “I Was Made For Lovin’ You”
18. “Rock and Roll All Nite”