Photo credit: João Fitas

Gaerea announce new album “Mirage” and release single “Salve”

Author Flavia Andrade - 30.6.2022

Portuguese cathartic black metal outfit Gaerea have announced their third full-length release, “Mirage”, out on September 23, via Season Of Mist. The announcement is coupled with the release of the first single and video from the album, “Salve“.

Behind black shrouds of obscurity and desolation, the men of Gaerea deliver their odes in cascading maelstroms of aggression and beauty with full-length number three, “Mirage”. Emerging from the age of pandemic to whatever awaits humanity next, the Portuguese horde remains on the frontlines of the next generation of extreme metal. The beauty of Gaerea lies in the directness and simplicity found within their florid tapestry of extremity and aggression. With talons dipped in the inky blood of black metal and scraped across the flesh of human suffering, Gaerea is leading a charge into the future of darkness, and all those who find beauty and power in the dark side of existence would do well to take heed.

The band had this to say about the single:

“‘Salve‘ is an excrutiating voyage into the Vortex’s Abyss. A burning Carriage which will lead us all to the Golden Walls of Mental Catharsis and endless suffocating whispers trapped within our bleeding corpses. The Journey between Reality and Perception is about to begin. Join us.”

You can watch the video below:

“Mirage” tracklisting:

1. Memoir
2. Salve
3. Deluge
4. Arson
5. Ebb
6. Mirage
7. Mantle
8. Laude
9. Dormant (bonus track)