Picture: Alexändra Sleäze

Finnish doom metal band Infirmum release their new single “Sleep Of Reason”

Author Samuel Järvinen - 13.1.2023

Infirmum, a doom metal band from Finland, has released their brand new track “Sleep Of Reason”. The single is accompanied by a official lyric video.

“This is a song that started taking its first shape a few years ago, before I even joined Infirmum. It is a song born of frustration, meant to express the despair of existing in an ever more uncertain world. While it is a salve, a way to vent all those feelings, it is also a herald of our doom. If I ever wrote an actual funeral dirge, this is it!”, vocalist Anna Rose says of the song.

Says guitarist Timo Solonen:

“As soon as Anna joined Infirmum in the summer 2020, she told she had lyrics ready for a song called Sleep of Reason. She also had vocal melodies ready for the chorus. I did my best to compose whole song around the chorus’s vocal melodies and get the atmosphere to be right for the song based on the lyrics..I think results are quite good but wasn’t easy I have to say. Teemu Mastovaara did arrangements for the cello and perfect job he did. Also Erna’s keyboards, Hanska’s drums, Joonas’s guitars and bass are excellent. Eliel’s growls works perfectly. And Anna? Well, you really have to love her voice.This is end of an era.”

The band’s debut album “Walls Of Sorrow” was released in 2020.