Enchanting crescendo: discover Lycania’s maiden voyage into metal with “My Kingdom Come”

Author Benedetta Baldin - 3.10.2023

Lycania is a German symphonic metal band that makes an impressive mark with their debut album, “My Kingdom Come”, to be released on October 21st, 2023. And if this is the course they are maintaining for their music career, we’d better keep an eye out for them.

The production quality of “My Kingdom Come” is nothing short of exceptional, especially considering it’s Lycania‘s debut. The symphonic elements are finely woven into the fabric of the music, creating a rich and immersive experience. Each instrument is given its due attention, and the album benefits greatly from a balanced mix that allows the listener to fully appreciate the intricate layers of sound.

It’s worth noting that personal preferences can vary, but I would have appreciated a bit more space given to the bass in the mixing. This is, of course, subjective and doesn’t diminish the overall quality of the album. Some could argue that the intention to keep the bass more subdued adds to the ethereal quality of the symphonic metal genre.

One of the standout features of the album is the band’s ability to create interesting and original melodies. Lycania manages to strike a delicate balance between the grandeur of symphonic arrangements and the raw energy of metal. The compositions are dynamic, with each track offering a unique journey through a diverse range of emotions, and the combination of clean and growling vocals is simply marvellous (“The Lone Poet’s Ballad“, “The Memory Remains“). From the hauntingly beautiful to the fiercely powerful, “My Kingdom Come” is proof that they are not afraid to experiment.

I think that Sarah Gorzelitz’s vocals are full of potential, so hopefully, in the next releases, we will be able to appreciate her range even more. The addition of Thorsten Schuck in the single “Dark Halls of Oblivion” was absolutely delightful and a great match with Sarah. But please, I would like to avoid comparing them to Nightiwsh. The final suite of the album testifies, if anything I wrote can’t convince you, that they improved on the symphonic genre.

In conclusion, “My Kingdom Come” is a triumph for Lycania. The album not only establishes them as a force to be reckoned with in the metal landscape but also gives them a fantastic starting point. Don’t miss it if you’re into symphonic releases!


  1. Scriptorium
  2. The Lone Poet’s Ballad
  3. Dark Halls of Oblivion
  4. My Kingdom Come
  5. Majesty of Madness
  6. Lust for a Tale
  7. Standing on the Edge
  8. My Empty Page
  9. The Wayfarer’s Dream
  10. Uncrowned
  11. The Memory Remains
  12. As Beauty There In Shackles Lies