Dimmu Borgir release cover of Deep Purple’s “Perfect Strangers”

Author Flavia Andrade - 9.11.2023

Norwegian black metal outfit Dimmu Borgir shared a cover of the Deep Purple track “Perfect Strangers“. The cover is featured on their upcoming collection of cover songs, “Inspiratio Profanus”, out on December 08 via Nuclear Blast Records.

Guitarist Sven Atle Kopperud (a.k.a. Silenoz) comments:

The idea of doing ‘Perfect Strangers‘ came about quite a while before we actually got around to recording it. It’s a known song by a very well-known band that has influenced many to pick up an instrument. I mean, is there anyone who doesn’t like Deep Purple?! We incorporated our little twist to it while at the same time wanted to stay close to the original. But perhaps it is the more obvious aspects that come to mind when hearing it; the integration between the main musical elements that we also made use of since the beginning like keyboards and guitars.

Silenoz had previously spoken about “Inspiratio Profanus”:

We’re pleased to announce the ‘Inspiratio Profanus‘ release! We thought it was about time to finally compile the cover songs we’ve done over the years and give these renditions an updated mastering, all in one package, highlighting some of our many influences!

“Inspiratio Profanus” track listing:

01. Black Metal (Venom)
02. Satan My Master (Bathory)
03. Dead Men Don’t Rape (G.G.F.H.)
04. Nocturnal Fear (Celtic Frost)
05. Burn In Hell (Twisted Sister)
06. Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple)
07. Metal Heart (Accept)
08. Nocturnal Fear (Celtically Processed) (Celtic Frost)

You can check out the “Perfect Strangers” below: