Dimmu Borgir announce cover album “Inspiratio Profanus”, unleash first single “Black Metal”

Author Hernan Osuna - 19.10.2023

After their last two successful albums “Abrahadabra” and “Eonian”, Norwegian symphonic black metallers Dimmu Borgir herald their 30-year legacy by releasing, together for the first time, a collection of their cover songs. The LP “Inspiratio Profanus” is being announced with the release of the thunderous first single, “Black Metal” by the extreme metal pioneers Venom. The new effort by Dimmu Borgir will be released on December 8th via Nuclear Blast Records.

Silenoz comments about the album “Inspiratio Profanus”: “We’re pleased to announce the Inspiratio Profanus release! We thought it was about time to finally compile the cover songs we’ve done over the years and give these renditions an updated mastering, all in one package, highlighting some of our many influences!”

Regarding the first song “Black Metal’, the musician adds: “Black Metal, the track and its origin, features something really primeval, raw and unhinged. There is lawlessness and danger connected to it. We did our best to capture the spirit of the ancient gods’ rock ’n roll 24 years later. Did we do it justice? I think so.

Pre-order “Inspiratio Profanus” here: https://dimmuborgir.bfan.link/inspiratio-profanus.ema

“Inspiratio Profanus” Tracklist:

01-Black Metal (Venom)
02-Satan My Master (Bathory)
03-Dead Men Don’t Rape (G.G.F.H.)
04-Nocturnal Fear (Celtic Frost)
05-Burn In Hell (Twisted Sister)
06-Perfect Strangers (Deep Purple)
07-Metal Heart (Accept)
08-Nocturnal Fear (Celtically Processed) (Celtic Frost)