Photo credit: Hillarie Jason

Death metal legends Massacre signs with Agonia Records

Author Arto Mäenpää - 8.12.2023

American death metal legends MASSACRE (established in 1984) have signed a record deal with Agonia Records for the release of the band’s 5th studio album, which is currently being worked on by frontman/vocalist Kam Lee (ex-Mantas, ex-Death, Bone Gnawer, The Grotesquery), original bassist Mike Borders, returning guitarists Rogga Johansson (Paganizer, Rib Spreader, Megascavanger) & Jonny Pettersson (Wombbath, Heads for The Dead) and new drummer Jon Rudin (Just Before Dawn, Heads for The Dead, Dehumanaut).

MASSACRE mastermind Kam Lee commented:

“I have to say it’s pretty cool to be signing with Agonia Records. The same label that bands like Pestilence, Rebaelliun, Demonical, Pathology, plus so many other killer Death and Black Metal bands call home. Looking at their roster you can see this is a label that’s dedicated to keeping to the core of pure underground metal bands and acts. In my opinion this is a refreshing reminder that you can remain true to the spirit of underground metal music and not rely on catering to trends in be relevant. This opinion is one that also resonates in my own philosophy about Massacre, one that keeps me on point at keeping the band focused on remaining true to the style and sound that is pure OSDM (old school death metal), and I personally think that Agonia Records is the perfect choice of a label that shall allow Massacre a place to maintain that status. I look forward to the future together, and I am excited for the fans to be able to look forwards to the upcoming new album to be released by the label.”

Formed in 1984, MASSACRE started out as a heavy/power metal band, but changed its style to death metal with the joining of Allen West and Kam Lee; the latter is often credited for inventing the “death growl” – first heard on the band’s 1986 demo “Aggressive Tyrant” – and is considered an influential pioneer as far as the death metal genre is concerned. The group went through several personnel shifts and disbandments over the years, with its early line-up toggling between MASSACRE, Mantas (early Death) and Death. Their 1991 debut album “From Beyond” was recorded at the famed Morrisound Studio and featured amongst “The 500 Greatest Rock & Metal Albums of All Time” by Rock Hard Magazine in 2005.

MASSACRE recorded three more albums to date, including 1996’s “Promise”, 2014’s “Back From Beyond” and – most recently – their 2021’s triumphant return album, aptly named “Resurgence”. They were released on Earache, Century Media and Nuclear Blast records, respectively. The band continued their comeback with the follow-up “Mythos” EP, their self released collection album “Corpus Umbra” (consisting of previously self released single tracks), and the unavoidable digital-only release of live tracks called “Submergence: Live Beyond 2019”.

The present-day line-up features original starting members Kam Lee and Mike Borders, alongside previously mentioned Rogga Johansson, Jonny Pettersson and Jon Rudin; jointly considered by Kam as the recording line-up, who is directly creating and writing new material. The band also features a separate session line-up (for live performances only), which consists of Carlos Gonzalez (Grim Reality) on guitars, Elden Santos (Druid Lord) on drums and, until recently, Tony Blakk (Druid Lord) on bass. “I refuse to be pigeon holed into what some people may perceive a band to be. As long as the members are productive musicians willing to do their part and perform their duties then I am fine with having revolving door line ups.” – Kam has been noted saying.

Kam is once again working together with his writing partners to bring new MASSACRE material to the forefront of the band for an all new album and new releases to come.

Upcoming shows:
Thrashfest 2024 (USA)
Dortmund Deathfest 2024 (Germany)
Rokstadt Extreme Fest 2024 (Romania)
Hellsinki Metal Festival 2024 (Finland)
Alcatraz Open Air 2024 (Belgium)
Pitfest 2024 (The Netherlands)
More TBA

Kam Lee – vocals
Mike Borders – bass
Rogga Johansson – guitars
Jonny Pettersson – guitars
Jon Rudin – drums